Connect with us

Atlantic Modified Tour

Tingley, Skidmore Celebrate First Wins at Petty Raceway in LaFarge Season Opener

Track Release, Prepared by Tim’s Corner Motorsports

(May 16th, 2015 – River Glade, NB) It was an afternoon of firsts Saturday at Petty International Raceway in River Glade, as hometown favourite Gary Tingley and Brandon Skidmore (Springhill, NS) scored first career victories during the LaFarge Aggregates and Concrete Season Opener.

Tingley led wire-to-wire in the 30-lap NAPA CMax Street Stock feature, but was pressured in the late laps by reigning class champion Kenny MacKenzie Jr. of Salisbury. Mackenzie was poised to make a run on the final lap of the feature, but a precision move by Tingley around a lapped car in the third turn sealed the deal for the #91 GT Enterprises Chevrolet. NAPA Petitcodiac Rookie of the Year contender Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek) was third. Bob Prosser (Moncton) won the second of two Street Stock qualifiers after James Matchett (Miramichi) and Darcy O’Neill (South Nelson) tangled on the last lap coming to the checkered flag. Tingley was the winner in the first heat race.

Skidmore battled multi-time Atlantic Modified Tour champion Mike “Sparky” Raeburn of Hampton to collect his first series victory in three years. Mark Daye completed the podium finishers in the 35-lap feature. Raeburn won the ten-lap qualifying heat. Complete results were unavailable from series officials at press time.

Luc Bourgeois (Memramcook) took home the Sportsman 50 lap feature after taking the lead from Andrew Rodgers (Smithtown) at the halfway point in the race. Bourgeois outlasted a rash of mid-race yellow flags and pulled away from Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek) in the late laps to pocket the win. O’Blenis held on to second for her best career finish in Sportsman competition at Petty International Raceway, followed by NAPA Petitcodiac Rookie of the Year candidate Kenny MacKenzie Jr. Matt Rodgers (Smithtown) and Dawson McIntee (Moncton) took heat race wins in the 12 car field.

Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek) drove a brand new race car that lost power steering on Lap 15 to victory lane in the Petty Pro Stock 40-lap feature. O’Blenis had nearly a straightaway advantage on Miramichi’s Brady Creamer and Salisbury’s Ken MacKenzie Sr. at the checkered flag. O’Blenis also won the heat race for the division.

Mike Edwards (Penobsquis) made a complete sweep of the Mister Transmission Mini Stock division, taking the win in both the 25-lap feature and 10-lap qualifier. Kody Quinn (Glace Bay, NS) closed in as the laps ticked down but had to settle for second place. Mike Weagle (Petitcodiac) held on for third after a spirited battle with Tim Webster (Beaverbank, NS).

Braden Langille (Shubenacadie, NS) ran away and hid in the 20-lap Leisure Days/CRC RV Bandolero division. The reigning INEX Winter Nationals champion led Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton) and Levi Rossiter (Salisbury) to the line after Tucker edged last year’s top rookie at the finish. Langille and Rossiter took heat race victories in the 11 car field.

The next event for Petty International Raceway is Saturday, May 30th when the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour rolls into town for the first of three visits. The Irving Oil Blending & Packaging 100 headlines a card which also includes the Mister Transmission Mini Stock, Leisure Days/CRC RV Bandolero and NAPA CMax Street Stock divisions. Racing gets under way at 6pm on Saturday, May 30th. Complete information can be found at or

About Petty International Raceway:
Petty International Raceway is located on Highway 106, just 40 km west of Moncton, New Brunswick. To learn more about Petty International Raceway, its location, admission, policies, history, and more, please visit To get current updates delivered to you directly please follow us on Twitter.



Sportsman Feature Results – Official
1 88 Luc Bourgeois
2 74 Alexandra O’Blenis
3 85 Ken MacKenzie Jr
4 19 Dawson McIntee
5 42 Matt Rodgers
6 61 Chris Cormier
7 14 Andrew Rodgers
8 7 Byron Bartlett
9 92 Neal Crawford
10 25 Marcel Maillet
11 3 Bert Cormier
12 29 Matt Maillet
Pro Stock Results
1 48 Dave O’Blenis
2 10 Brady Creamer
3 85 Ken MacKenzie Sr
4 19 Tim Rodgers
5 74 Alexandra O’Blenis
6 12 Michael Kyle
7 03 Steve Halpin
Street Stock Feature Results – Official
1 91 Gary Tingley
2 85 Ken MacKenzie Jr
3 48 Courtney O’Blenis
4 5 Bob Prosser
5 68 Darcy O’Neill
6 87 Nick Cudmore
7 09 Nick Cadger
8 50 James Smith
9 2 Chuck Mercer
10 49 Gary Wade
11 54 James Matchett
12 92 Shawn Lewis
Mini Stock Feature Results – Official
1 89 Mike Edwards
2 88 Kody Quinn
3 60 Mike Weagle
4 86 Tim Webster
5 91 Joshua Moore
6 58 Logan Power
7 0 Rob Poirier
8 10 Patricia Taylor
9 72 Rob Boutilier
10 61 Eugene Weagle
Bandolero Feature Results – Official
1 51 Braden Langille
2 32 Ashton Tucker
3 84 Levi Rossiter
4 68 Michael Cormier
5 27 Austin MacDonald
6 18 Joshua Langille
7 24 Ben Silliker
8 44 Nathan Blackburn
9 13 Max Alward
10 87 Danny Chisholm
11 3 Nathan Langille

Atlantic Modified Tour – 35 Laps
1 – #4 Brandon Skidmore
2 – #98 Mike Raeburn
3 – #25 Mark Daye
4 – #1 Justin Beers
5 – #3 Kenny Deveau
6 – #17 Joe Hoyt
7 – #81 Cody Price

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Atlantic Modified Tour