Connect with us

Atlantic Modified Tour

Ryan Messer Takes Third Win of AMT Season Sunday at Petty Raceway

Series Release

(Petitcodiac, NB) For an unprecedented third time this season, the checkered flag flew on Harvey, NB`s Ryan Messer during the Mike Stevens Memorial weekend.

Messer took the lead with just a few laps remaining, pulling off an incredible outside pass on 2011 tour champion Joe Hoyt. Hoyt almost didn’t make the feature with electrical issues in his 10 lap qualifier.

“I like this track I guess. We’ve been running here for a while, 4 years I think, and we seem to have a good handle on the place.” Messer said in victory lane.

Fredericton’s Robert Miner had yet another incredible run in his Investors Group #48, coming home 3rd after leading almost 20 laps. Brandon Skidmore and Lightning Larry Gulliver rounded out the top 5 as only 6 cars remained on the lead lap at the end of the 50 lap feature.

Messer didn’t have an easy go at it though. He cut down two right side tires in his heat race, but as many saw, it didn’t slow him down a bit. Points leader Mike Raeburn had trouble late in the race, spinning off turn 2 and then a mechanical issue sidelined the 4-time champion.

Skidmore and Doug Matchett took heat race wins. Matchett’s was his first win of the season.

1. Ryan Messer
2. Joe Hoyt
3. Robert Miner
4. Brandon Skidmore
5. Larry Gulliver
6. Cody Price
7. Dustin Phillips / Cooter Smith
8. Mike Raeburn
9. Doug Matchett
10. Mark Daye
11. John Lyons
12. Mike Phillips

On Friday, Speedway Miramichi will play host to the Atlantic Modified Tour for the final time this season. Racing starts at 7PM.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Atlantic Modified Tour