Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Speedworld Caps 2013 With Awards Banquet

Scotia Speedworld closed their 26th season off on Saturday night in Truro, Nova Scotia with their annual Awards Banquet. The Best Western Glengarry played host to the annual gala, which honors the accomplishments of the drivers and crews of Nova Scotia’s only oval track that plays host to a Weekly Racing Series. Over 250 people, including drivers, crew, staff, sponsors, family, friends and fans gathered in Nova Scotia’s “Hub Town” for the event.

Drivers who competed in 80% of races in the Hydraulics Plus Bandoleros, ACE Lumbermart Thunder and Lightning, Coors Light Trucks, Strictly Hydraulics Legends and Dartmouth Dodge Sportsman were awarded for their point finishes. The Maritime League of Legends Tour also honored their top 12 in their season ending point standings, which was won by Bedford’s Justin MacNeill.

CLICK HERE FOR AWARDS PHOTO GALLERY (Photos by McCarthy Photographic)

A list of contingency awards, per division, is as follows;

Dartmouth Dodge Sportsman
Champion (Roma Brothers Memorial Trophy): Darren Wallage of Oakfield
Debbie Hallahan Memorial Rookie of the Year: D.J. Casey of Prospect Road
Easiest Car to Score: Marie Brown of Antrim
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Darren Wallage of Oakfield
R&D Performancentre Five Star Body Re-Skin Package Draw: Tyler Hallahan of Elmsadale

Strictly Hydraulics Legends
Champion: Cole Butcher of Porter’s Lake
Rookie of the Year: Harry Breimer Jr. of Stewiacke
Easiest Car to Score: Paul Goulden of Shelburne
Cathy Ledwidge Memorial Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Cole Butcher of Porter’s Lake
R&D Performancentre $200 Gift Certificate Draw: Richard Salter of Centre Burlington

Coors Light Trucks
Champion: Dan Smith of Lower Sackville
Rookie of the Year: Robbie Watts of Lucasville
Easiest Car to Score: Chris Ainsworth of Halifax
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Chris Ainsworth of Halifax

ACE Lumbermart Thunder
Champion: Matthew Warren of White’s Lake
Rookie of the Year: John MacLennan of Truro
Easiest Car to Score: Jordan Pirri of West Chezzetcook
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Dave Matthews of Kennetcook

ACE Lumbermart Lightning
Champion: Marc MacMillan of Glenholme
Rookie of the Year: Deven Smith of Lakeside
Easiest Car to Score: Chevy MacDonald of Stewiacke
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Earl MacDonald of Stewiacke

Hydraulics Plus Bandoleros
Champion: Adam Meehan of Rawdon
Rookie of the Year: Wyatt McCulloch of Stewiacke
Easiest Car to Score: Joshua Langille of Coldbrook
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Joshua Langille of Coldbrook
R&D Performance $200 Gift Certificate Draw: Braden Langille of Shubenacadie

Maritime League of Legends Tour
Champion: Justin MacNeill of Bedford
Rookie of the Year: Harry Breimer Jr. of Stewiacke
The work begins now on planning for the 2014 season. Announcements of information on the 2014 season, which includes dates, times and location of the rules meetings, will be available soon at

About Scotia Speedworld:
Scotia Speedworld (SSW) is a 3/10-mile asphalt oval racing facility. SSW is the only track in Nova Scotia to host a weekly racing series, which runs May through September and features six different classes of racecars. SSW also hosts special events, including Monster Jam and the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour. SSW is located at Exit 6 on Highway 102, across from the Halifax Stanfield International Airport. For more information please click on or call our Event Hotline at (902) 873-2277 or our office at (902) 481-2514. Like us on Facebook at  and follow us on Twitter

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing