Connect with us

Maritime Pro Stock Tour

EXIT Realty PEI 100 Up Next at Oyster Bed Speedway

Track Release by Jeremy MacDonald(edited)/Photo by Marlie Paynter

The pit area at Oyster Bed Speedway will be packed as the track welcomes another twenty cars a part of the Parts for Trucks Maritime Pro Stock Tour Saturday night. At least eight Island drivers will be competing with four of them making up the top ten in points.

Greg Proude who currently holds a total of four career wins at the Speedway on the tour could tie both John Flemming and Wayne Smith with the most wins at the Island track. Proude so far has been enjoying a successful season consistently finishing near the top and has been rewarded with a fourth place position in points.

Dylan Gosbee, who is fifth in points, may be the Islands best chance to win as the sophomore driver scored his first win on the tour earlier this year and will be making another stop at the track he dominated at in his final years there before moving up to the Maritime Tour. This season he has also grabbed the hard charger award twice for most positions gained from the start to the end of a feature and has also won the dash for cash race which sends the winner to the pole for the start of the feature.

Past winners at the track, Darren Mackinnon and Jonathan Hicken who are sixth and seventh respectively will be eying to add to their win totals. Hicken has won twice already at the Speedway and most recently sat on the pole for the prestigious IWK 250. Mackinnon, who has four top five finishes at the speedway, has twice this year been presented the hard charger award for the feature.

With close to half the drivers being from PEI, there is a good possibility the Island fans will get to see what they want which is an Island winner.

The local classes will be out in full force at the Speedway as well, featuring the Mini, Street Stock and Modified divisions.

In the modified division points lead is being held onto by the slimmest of margins. Randy Millar is holding off Darrell Ford by a mere one point, with Kris Fournier sitting third only three points back.

Millar has been steady all year long. Despite being down towards the bottom of the division in wins with two, the defending champion has ten top three finishes. Ford on the other hand picked up four wins one of those including a feature. Fournier has five total wins including a feature win. All three drivers at some point this year has had the division lead and only Darrell Ford, has been able to keep the lead over consecutive weekends.

Gates open at 12:30pm on Saturday. Atlantic Tiltload time trials start at 5:10 with the regular night of racing commencing at six o’clock.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Pro Stock Tour