Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Speedway 660 Crowns Weekly Point Racing Champions

Track Release

(Aug. 29, 2015) Speedway 660’s Night of Champions was dominated by Lonnie Sommerville Racing. Lonnie won the 2015 RE/MAX Group Four Realty Pro Stock Division Championship shortly after cars out of the LSR shop captured the top three positions in the Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman Division standings. 

“Bob Calquhoun, from Pub’s Drive through Bottle Exchange, who has supported my racing career for the last seven or eight years wanted me to come back to 660 full-time and run for the Pro Stock title and tonight I’m sure glad we did” said Sommerville. “Early in my racing career I only thought about doing whatever I had to do to win races, but tonight I just tried to look at the big picture, stay out of trouble and a third place finish was good enough to take the title.”

After the heat races, Dave O’Blenis had closed to within four points of Sommerville heading into the feature. But O’Blenis, who was racing for a sixth Pro Stock title, got caught up in an early wreck which ended his night and championship hopes.

“Dave was just in the wrong place at the wrong time and it could just as easily have been us instead of him” said Sommerville. “I would have rather raced door to door with Dave for the championship, but it didn’t turn out that way.”

Kevin Moore, who won his first feature of the season, finished second in Pro Stock points. Greg Fahey was second in the feature, while Dustin Tucker and Matt Harris won the heat races. Alexandra O’Blenis won the RE/MAX Group Four Realty Rookie of the Year Award.

Randy Moore finally claimed a Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman Championship at Speedway 660. After coming close a number of times Moore closed the deal with a solid fourth place feature finish. Ryan Messer, who was Sportsman Rookie of the Year, won his first feature of the year, while Devin Snell and Drew Greenlaw were second and third. Laurie Cormier and Braxton Stafford were the Sportsman heat race winners.

“We’ve been close several times in the past, but to win this championship tonight in this tough division is a real dream come true and I want to thank Bob, from Pub’s Drive Through Bottle exchange for asking me to drive his car this year” said Moore. “This championship is also for my wife Melissa and my boys Andrew and Jackson and I also want to thank all of the great Speedway 660 fans who come out to watch us race every week.”

Rob Raynes finished third in the DMR Auto Sales & Service Street Stock feature, which was good enough to give him his first championship.  Geoff Tugwell, who won the Street Stock feature, finished second in the points. Courtney O’Blenis, who was second in the feature, was third in the points and was the Street Stock Rookie of the Year.

“It’s amazing to finally win the championship after finishing second in the points and missing the championship twice by a couple of points” said Raynes. “We worked hard as a team all season long and we finally have achieved our goal, it sure wasn’t easy but now we know what it feels like to win a title.”

The Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter championship went to Kyle Boudreau. A seventh place feature finish gave the 2014 Sharp Shooter Rookie of the Year the 2015 title. Matt Crocker won the feature and one of the heat races, while Jeremy Doran, who was second in the feature, won the other heat race. Brody Levesque was third in the feature, while Noah Gillespie was the Sharp Shooter Rookie of the Year.

Ashton Tucker won the Westwood Estate Apartment Bandolero championship. Tucker also won the feature, while Riley Goodwin was second and MacKenzie Brewer, who won the Bando heat race, was third. Adrian Stairs was the Bando Rookie of the Year.

Next up is the Irving Blending & Packaging SpeedWeekend at Speedway 660. It gets underway next Friday evening with the Harvey Family Farms Corn Boil and infield concert with Tristan Horncastle. Next Saturday the Irving I24 Sportsman150 is the feature attraction, followed by the Irving Blending & Packaging Pro Stock 250 on Sunday, September 6th and the Capital City Auto Parts Enduro 200 on Monday, September 7th.

Speedway 660 Feature Results, August 29th, 2015

RE/MAX Group Four Realty Pro Stocks

1. Kevin Moore (Fredericton, NB), 2. Greg Fahey (St. Stephen, NB), 3. Lonnie Sommerville (Saint John, NB), 4. Derek Christie (Fredericton, NB), 5. Dustin Tucker (Fredericton, NB), 6. Alicia Mowat (Hardwood Ridge, NB), 7. John Rankin (St.Martins, NB), 8. Matt Harris (Fredericton Jct., NB), 9. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 10. Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 11. Robbie Fraser (Riverview, NB), 12. Glyn Nott (Burton, NB),

Martin’s Home Heatin Sportsman

1. Ryan Messer (Harvey, NB), 2. Devin Snell (Saint John, ), 3. Drew Greenlaw (Eastport, ME), 4. Randy Moore (Saint John, NB), 5. Laurie Cormier (Grand Barachois, NB), 6. Shawn Warren (Waasis, NB), 7. Dawson McIntee (Moncton, NB), 8. Richard Atkinson (Haneytown, NB), 9. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 10. Braxton Stafford, 11. Justin Cole (Harvey , NB), 12. Jason Shannon (Hoyt, NB), 13. Kyle Carr (Saint John, NB), 14. James Matchett, 15. George Jamieson (Fredericton, NB), 16. Cal Hatfield (Rothesay, NB), 17. Jeff Doherty, 18. Darren Beatty (Lakeville Corner, NB), 19. Kyle Orr (Saint John, NB),

DMR Auto Sales & Service Street Stocks

1. Geoff Tugwell (Smithtown, NB), 2. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 3. Robert Raynes (Summerville, NB), 4. Roger Slocum (Chipman, NB), 5. Rick Cashol (Saint John, NB), 6. Destiny Enkel (Saint John, NB), 7. Eric Matthews, 8. Luc McLaughlin (Geary, NB), 9. Courtney Barton (Minto, NB), 10. Lee Goodine, 11. Benji Ruff (Carlow, NB), 12. Rodney Ness (Hanwell, NB), 13. Ryan Raynes, 14. Chuck Morton (Lincoln, NB),

Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooters

1. Matt Crocker (Fredericton, NB), 2. Jeremy Doran (Fredericton, NB), 3. Brody Levesque (Fredericton, ), 4. Jacob Logan (Harvey, NB), 5. Bryan Suttie (Keswick, NB), 6. Ryan Richard, 7. Kyle Boudreau, 8. Neil Miousse (Fredericton, NB), 9. Noah Gillespie, 10. Malcolm Suley (Clarendon, NB), 11. Adam Gavel, 12. James McCoy, 13. Curtis Collins, 14. Ben Coburn, 15. Allison Hall, 16. Aaron Belleville (Saint John, ), 17. Brian Maillet, 18. Ira Farnell (Lincoln, NB), 19. Kyle MacKinnon, 20. Guy Arseneau, 21. Robert Colquhoun (Rothesay)

Westwood Estate Apartments Bandoleros

1. Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton, NB), 2. Riley Goodwin, 3. Mackenzie Brewer (Quispamsis, NB), 4. Hudson Weston (Saint John, NB), 5. Austin MacDonald, 6. Joshua Langille, 7. Nathan Langille, 8. Adrian Stairs.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing