Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Luce Claims Over $30,000 In Prestigious Oxford 250

Series Release

Oxford, Maine – Glen Luce of Turner scored an emotional victory, and a $30,000-plus payday, in Sunday’s 42nd Annual AIM Recycling USA Oxford 250 at Oxford Plains Speedway.

For Luce, who once finished second to NASCAR star Kevin Harvick in the annual classic, it was not only a career highlight, but a dream come true for someone who grew up at the historic Maine racetrack.

After drawing a dead-last starting spot in his heat race, Luce worked his way into fourth place, earning the 22nd starting position in the 250.  Twice he worked his way into contention before pitting for tires, first for a pair, later for a full, fresh set.

After outgunning Berwick’s Joey Doiron for the lead, Luce outran Manchester teenager Reid Lanpher to the checkered flag.  For both Luce and Lanpher it was a career-best PASS Super Late Model finish, coming in the biggest-paying race of the year.

Luce and Lanpher were chased to the checkered flag by Ben Lynch, a New Hampshire native now living in North Carolina.  Six-time PASS North Super Late Model champion Johnny Clark of Farmingdale ended up in fourth position.  The top five was filled out by 50-lap last chance race winner Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., who started the 250-lapper in 34th position.

Cassius Clark earned a sixth-place finish in the Rollie MacDonald 13.  Wayne Helliwell, Jr ended up in seventh after leading more than half the race, earning a hefty bonus in lap leader awards.  Helliwell also turned in the fastest lap of the race.  Rounding out the top ten were Corey Bubar of Windham, David Oliver of Standish and East Parsonsfield’s Trevor Sanborn.

Evan Armington of Lovell won the 25-lap race for OPS Mods on Saturday night and then backed that up with a 40-lap victory for PASS Modified tour points on Sunday afternoon in the Pro All Stars Series lone open-wheel series.

Armington was chased under the checkered flag by reigning series champion Andy Shaw of Center Conway, New Hampshire, driving the Sumner Sessions 0.  Jimmy Emerson of Windham led the early stages of the race, finishing up in third position.  Ryan Robbins of Dixfield and Newburgh’s Scott Alexander rounded out the top five.

Josh Childs of Oxford won for the second straight night in Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock competition, outrunning Bryce Mains of Naples to the checkered flag.  Dan Brown of Peru earned the third-place trophy, in front of Turner’s Calvin Rose, Jr. and David Whittier of Poland.

Ryan Kuhn of East Bridgewater, Massachusetts raced to his first-ever INEX Legends Cars win.  Kuhn outgunned Jolicure, New Brunswick competitor Corey Hall for the victory, with Hall claiming runner-up honors after leading most of the 25-lapper.  Nicholas Naugle of Dartmouth, Nova Scotia finished third for the second straight night at OPS.  Early race leader Austin Teras of Windham ended up in fourth place, followed by Emily Meehan of Rawdon Gold Mines, Nova Scotia.

David Cook of Livermore Falls started from the pole and led all the way in a special, 50-lap race for the MacDonald Motors Runnin’ Rebel class.  Kyle Hewins of Leeds won an entertaining, race-long battle for runner-up honors with the winner’s brother, Derek Cook of Livermore Falls.  Matthew Mahar of Buckfield and Auburn’s Cody Childs rounded out the top five in an event with a lot of paint-swapping throughout the top ten.

Oxford Plains Speedway is located on Route 26 in Oxford, Maine.  For more information visit or call (207) 539-8865.

PASS Super Late Model AIM Recycling USA Oxford 250 (250 laps) 1 7 Glen Luce, Turner; 2 59 Reid Lanpher, Manchester; 3 7 Ben Lynch, Charlotte, NC; 4 54 Johnny Clark, Farmingdale; 5 97 Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Hudson, NH; 6 13 Cassius Clark, Farmington; 7 27 Wayne Helliwell, Jr., Dover, NH; 8 42 Corey Bubar, Windham; 9 21 David Oliver, Standish; 10 77 Trevor Sanborn, East Parsonsfield; 11 00 Bryan Kruczek, Newmarket, NH; 12 47 Kelly Moore, Scarborough; 13 94 Shawn Martin, Turner; 14 25 Shawn Knight, South Paris; 15 129 Spencer Davis, Dawsonville, GA; 16 60 Tim Brackett, Buckfield; 17 53 Cole Butcher, Porter’s Lake, Nova Scotia; 18 22 Scott Farrington, Minot; 19 48 Bobby Timmons, Windham; 20 94 Garrett Hall, Scarborough; 21 2 Matt Matheson, Oromocto, New Brunswick; 22 36 Scott Robbins, Dixfield; 23 71 Raphael Lessard, St-Joseph Beauce, Quebec; 24 66 Eddie MacDonald, Rowley, MA; 25 7 Mike Rowe, Turner; 26 51 Christopher Bell, Normal, OK; 27 17 Travis Benjamin, Morrill; 28 66 Jason Corliss, Essex Jct., VT; 29 09 Jeremy Davis, Tamworth, NH; 30 44 Kyle Treadwell, Buckfield; 31 73 Joey Doiron, Berwick; 32 15 Mike Hopkins, Hermon; 33 84 Scott Mulkern, Falmouth; 34 88 Jeff Taylor, Farmington; 35 55 Brent Dragon, Colchester, VT; 36 35 Derek Ramstrom, West Boylston, MA; 37 4 Jeremy Whorff, Bath; 38 3 Vanna Brackett, Buckfield; 39 8 Tate Fogelman, Durham, NC; 40 4 Ben Rowe, Turner; 41 1 Tyler Dippel, Walkill, NY.

PASS Modified (40 laps) 1 9 Evan Armington, Lovell; 2 0 Andy Shaw, Center Conway, NH; 3 12 Jimmy Emerson, Windham; 4 36 Ryan Robbins, Dixfield; 5 17 Scott Alexander, Newburgh; 6 64 Matty Sanborn, Westbrook; 7 33 Billy Dixon, Waterboro; 8 25 Bruce Helmoth, Wales; 9 2 Randy Sanborn, West Baldwin.

Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Street Stock (30 laps) 1 3 Josh Childs, Oxford; 2 63 Bryce Mains, Naples; 3 83 Dan Brown, Peru; 4 8 Calvin Rose, Jr., Turner; 5 58 David Whittier, West Poland; 6 24 Jonathan Emerson, Sabattus; 7 6 David Cameron, Alfred; 8 5 Guy Childs, Sr., Sabattus; 9 4 Jordan Russell, Norway; 10 36 Rick Spaulding, Lisbon; 11 71 Jason LaValley, Auburn; 12 23 Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 13 33 Andrew Breton, Sabattus; 14 04 Zach Bowie, Greene.

INEX Legends Cars (25 laps) 1 72 Ryan Kuhn, East Bridgewater, MA; 2 08 Corey Hall, Jolicure, New Brunswick; 3 88 Nicholas Naugle, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia; 4 29 Austin Teras, Windham; 5 75 Emily Meehan, Rawdon Gold Mines, Nova Scotia; 6 6 Adam Meehan, Rawdon Gold Mines, Nova Scotia; 7 4 Thomas Everson, Gilmanton, NH; 8 27 Roger Edgecomb, Hiram; 9 70 Tyler Braunschweig, West Newfields; 10 28 Kevin Oliver, Gray; 11 1  Todd Libby, West Baldwin; 12 51 Braden Langille, Schubenacadie, Nova Scotia; 13 80 Dylan Varney, Windham; 14 67 Zach Godbout, Mount Vernon;  15 72 Mike Humphrey, Cornish; 16 21 Parker Varney, Windham; 17 96 Richard Humphrey, Parsonsfield; 18 60 Anthony Pagliarulo, Groveland, MA; 19 00 Cole Boudreau, Chipman, New Brunswick.

MacDonald Motors Runnin’ Rebel (50 laps) 1 44 David Cook, Livermore Falls; 2 51 Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 3 44x Derek Cook, Livermore Falls; 4 0 Matthew Mahar, Buckfield; 5 94 Cody Childs, Auburn; 6 18 Dustin Salley, Poland; 7 05 Gerard Cote, Oxford; 8 2 Shaun Hinkley, Oxford; 9 41 Jeff Walker, Saco; 10 11 Cam Childs, Leeds; 11 6 Cody White, Buckfield; 12 2x Wade Worster, West Newfields; 13 5 Jacob Hall, Oxford;  14 48 David Luce, n/a; 15 1x Derek McKeen, n/a; 16 52 Mike Nichols, Livermore Falls; 17 8x Justin McKeen, n/a; 18 58 David Greenleaf, Westport Island; 19 7x Albert Smith, Jr., South Paris; 20 69 Randy Green, Norway; 21 56 Adrianna McDaniel, Bridgton; 22 42 David Stone, Jr., Springvale; 23 14 Randy Pimpare, n/a; 24 15 Nathan Dubuc, Lewiston; 25 50 Charlie Hall, Oxford; 26 19 Zach Audet, Skowhegan; 27 55 Craig Pyy, n/a.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing