Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Crocker Takes Sharp Shooter 40 at Speedway 660

Track Release/Photo by Michelle Roy

Matt Crocker was unbeatable Saturday night at Speedway 660. Crocker followed up a heat race win early in the evening with a checkered flag in the Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter 40. Neil Miousse finished second, while Brody Leveque drove home third. Kyle MacKinnon won the other Sharp Shooter heat race. 

“We spent the whole time between the heat race and the feature working on this car to repair a broken axle” said Crocker, from the Riverview Ford Victory Lane. “The car really came to life in the forty lap race, but I was a little worried near the end working the lapped traffic because Neil was closing quickly, so it’s nice to get the win.”

Greg Fahey took advantage of a late caution and won the RE/MAX Group Four Realty Pro Stock feature. Dave O’Blenis finished second, while Kevin Moore was third. O’Blenis and Calvin Rankin won the Pro Stock heat races.

“Dave had a big lead and I know he didn’t want to see that caution come out, but it’s exactly what we needed and our car got good grip in the second groove on the restart to help bring us to victory lane” said Fahey. “I’ve got a lot of respect for Dave O’Blenis, he raced us hard and clean right to the end and tonight we were just a little better at the end of the race when it mattered most.”

Randy Moore won a rough Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman feature Saturday night at Speedway 660. Point leader Devin Snell was leading the feature, with just a few laps to go, when he got caught up in a wreck involving lapped cars. George Jamieson ended up second, while Justin Cole had his best run of the season finishing third. Shawn Warren and Alexandra O’Blenis won the Sportsman heat races.

The DMR Auto Sales & Service Street Stock feature saw Geoff Tugwell take his car to victory lane for the fourth time this season. Tugwell took the win over Courtney O’Blenis and Robert Raynes. Destiny Enkel and Ryan Raynes won the Street Stock heat races.

Ashton Tucker finally got back to the Riverview Ford Victory Lane in the West Wood Estates Bandolero Division. Riley Goodwin had another strong finish by bringing his Bando home second, just ahead of Hudson Weston. Tucker also won the Bando heat race.

Up next, Speedway 660 will run one of the biggest Sportsman races of the season. The Firecracker 150 is scheduled for next Saturday night at 6:30PM. The Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman Division drivers will see some tough competition when they go up against visiting drivers from other areas of the Maritimes and two or three Pro Stock drivers who will run Sportsman cars next weekend.

Speedway 660 Feature Results – August 8th, 2015

Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooters

1.Matt Crocker (Fredericton, NB), 2. Neil Miousse (Fredericton, NB), 3. Brody Levesque (Fredericton, ), 4. Kyle MacKinnon, 5. Jeremy Doran (Fredericton, NB), 6. Kyle Boudreau, 7. Malcolm Suley (Clarendon, NB), 8. James McCoy, 9. Bryan Suttie (Keswick, NB), 10. Ira Farnell (Lincoln, NB), 11. Noah Gillespie, 12. Ryan Richard, 13. Adam Gavel, 14. Brad Slipp (Saint John, NB), 15. Aaron Belleville, 16. Jacob Logan (Harvey, NB), 17. Brian Maillet, 18. Allison Hall, 19. Tristen Haris, 20. Curtis Collins

RE/MAX Group Four Realty Pro Stocks

1.Greg Fahey (St. Stephen, NB), 2. Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 3. Kevin Moore (Fredericton, NB), 4. Lonnie Sommerville (Saint John, NB), 5. Matt Harris (Fredericton Jct., NB), 6. Dustin Tucker (Fredericton, NB), 7. John Rankin (St.Martins, NB), 8. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 9. Glyn Nott (Burton, NB), 10. Alicia Mowat (Hardwood Ridge, NB), 11. Robbie Fraser (Riverview, NB), 12. Calvin Rankin (Quispamsis, NB), 13. Robert Minor (Fredericton, NB)

Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman

1. Randy Moore (Saint John, NB), 2. George Jamieson (Fredericton, NB), 3. Justin Cole (Harvey , NB), 4. Laurie Cormier (Grand Barachois, NB), 5. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 6. Ryan Messer (Harvey, NB), 7. Shawn Warren (Waasis, NB), 8. James Matchett, 9. Jeff Doherty, 10. Dawson McIntee (Moncton, NB), 11. Braxton Stafford, 12. Drew Greenlaw (Eastport, ME), 13. Devin Snell (Saint John, ), 14. Kyle Orr (Saint John, NB), 15. Kyle Carr (Saint John, NB), 16. Richard Atkinson (Haneytown, NB),

DMR Auto Sales & Service Street Stocks

1. Geoff Tugwell (Moncton, NB), 2. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 3. Robert Raynes (Summerville, NB), 4. Roger Slocum (Chipman, NB), 5. Luc McLaughlin (Geary, NB), 6. Tyler Seveck (Nackawic, NB), 7. Chuck Morton (Lincoln, NB), 8. Rodney Ness (Hanwell, NB), 9. Destiny Enkel (Saint John, NB), 10. Lee Goodine, 11. Ryan Raynes, 12. Rick Cashol (Saint John, NB)

West Wood Estates Bandolero

1. Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton, NB), 2. Riley Goodwin, 3. Hudson Weston (Saint John, NB), 4. Ben Pelletier for Braden Langille (Shubenacadie, NS), 5. Mackenzie Brewer (Quispamsis, NB), 6. Adrian Stairs

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing