Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Fahey Wins Best of The Best 150, Stafford and O’Blenis Score Key First Wins

Track Release/Photo by Michelle Roy of Speedway 660

(July 25, 2015) Greg Fahey won the McLaughlin Roof Trusses Best of the Best 150 Saturday night at Speedway 660. It was third Best of the Best victory for the three-time RE/MAX Group Four Realty Pro Stock champion. Fahey and second place finisher Cassius Clark both earned Provisional starting positions in the Irving Oil Blending & Packaging 250 on SpeedWeekend. 

“This has got to be the sweetest win in my racing career because at the end of last season I had no idea I would be given the opportunity to get back into a competitive Pro Stock car and run in these big races again” said Fahey who spent the last two years in a Sportsman car. “I am so thankful to the boys from McLaughlin Roof Trusses for putting me in this ride and thanks to Shawn Tucker for setting the car up, they do all the work and I’m the lucky guy who gets to drive this rocket ship every week.”

Dave O’Blenis led most of the first 100 laps before a mechanical issue forced him out of the race. Clark ran second, but was unable to reel in Fahey as the laps wound down. Lonnie Sommerville drove to a third place finish. Clark, O’Blenis and Paul Gahan won the Pro Stock qualifying heat races.

The teenagers ruled the roost in the Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman feature. Sixteen year old rookie Braxton Stafford won the 40 lap feature followed by 15 year old Ryan Messer and 17 year old Drew Greenlaw. Stafford and George Jamieson won the Sportsman heat races.

“This is awesome, to come out here and win a feature is something we didn’t expect to do in our rookie season” said Stafford from the Riverview Ford Victory Lane. “Early in the season we were getting lapped in the features, but we just kept working hard trying to improve every week and that work has paid off with a win tonight, I still can’t believe it.”

The DMR Auto Sales & Service Street Stock feature also saw a rookie go to victory lane. Fifteen year old Courtney O’Blenis won the caution-free 30 lap race ahead of veterans Geoff Tugwell and Robert Raynes. Rick Cashol and Raynes won the Street Stock heat races.

“We’ve been close lots of times this season and to finally win a feature is a big thrill” said O’Blenis. “I was really nervous in those last few laps and am glad the race stayed green because I really wanted to go to victory lane this year in this tough Street Stock division.”

Jeremy Doran won a wild 15 lap Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter feature. Doran outgunned Neil Miousse and Ryan Richard for the win. Bryan Suttie and Curtis Collins won the Sharp Shooter heat races.

MacKenzie Brewer celebrated his 15th birthday in fine fashion Saturday night. Brewer won the West Wood Estates Bandolero feature for the first time in 2015. Ashton Tucker was second, while Braden Langille was third. Tucker won the Bando heat race.

Speedway 660 race teams have the New Brunswick Holiday Weekend off before a busy stretch run which begins with the Sharp Shooter 40 on August 8th. The Sportsman Firecracker 150 goes on August 15th, followed by Fan Appreciation Night on the 22nd and the Night of Champions on the 29th. The racing season wraps up with the Irving Oil Blending & Packaging SpeedWeekend from September 4th through 7th.

McLaughlin Roof Trusses Best of the Best 150

1.Greg Fahey (St. Stephen, NB), 2. Cassius Clark (Farmington, ME), 3. Lonnie Sommerville (Saint John, NB), 4. Kirk Thibeau (Presque Isle, ME), 5. Kevin Moore (Fredericton, NB), 6. Paul Gahan (Lower St Mary’s, NB), 7. John Rankin (St.Martins, NB), 8. Ken MacKenzie (Petitcodiac, NB), 9. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 10. Glyn Nott (Burton, NB), 11. Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 12. Brady Creamer (Miramichi, NB), 13. Steve Halpin (Saint John, NB), 14. Derek Christie (Fredericton, NB), 15. Calvin Rankin (Quispamsis, NB), 16. Ben Rowe (Beechridge, ME), 17. Matt Harris (Fredericton Jct., NB), 18. Alicia Mowat (Hardwood Ridge, NB), 19. Robbie Fraser (Riverview, NB), 20. Michael Kyle (Sussex, NB), 21. Dustin Tucker (Fredericton, NB), 22. Brent Wiggins (Fredericton, NB)

Martin’s Home Heat Sportsman Feature 

1.Braxton Stafford,  (Blackville, NB) 2. Ryan Messer (Harvey, NB), 3. Drew Greenlaw (Eastport, ME), 4. Devin Snell (Saint John, ), 5. Andrew Rodgers (Smithtown, NB), 6. Randy Moore (Saint John, NB), 7. Brent Roy (Hanwell, NB), 8. Dawson McIntee (Moncton, NB), 9. Richard Atkinson (Haneytown, NB), 10. Justin Cole (Harvey , NB), 11. George Jamieson (Fredericton, NB), 12. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 13. Jordan Veinotte (Porters Lake, NS), 14. Shawn Warren (Waasis, NB)

DMR Auto Sales & Service Street Stock Feature

1. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 2. Geoff Tugwell (Moncton, NB), 3. Robert Raynes (Summerville, NB), 4. Ryan Raynes, 5. Roger Slocum (Chipman, NB), 6. Rick Cashol (Saint John, NB), 7. Destiny Enkel (Saint John, NB), 8. Martin Landry (Shediac, NB), 9. Rodney Ness (Hanwell, NB), 10. Luc McLaughlin (Geary, NB), 11. Lee Goodine, 12. Courtney Barton (Minto, NB)

Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter Feature

1. Jeremy Doran (Fredericton, NB), 2. Neil Miousse (Fredericton, NB), 3. Ryan Richard, 4. Kyle Boudreau, 5. Brody Levesque (Fredericton, ), 6. Al Mulligan, 7. Jacob Logan (Harvey, NB), 8. Curtis Collins, 9. Brad Slipp (Saint John, NB), 10. Bryan Suttie (Keswick, NB), 11. Matt Crocker (Fredericton, NB), 12. Allison Hall, 13. Noah Gillespie, 14. Malcolm Suley (Clarendon, NB), 15. Kyle MacKinnon, 16. James McCoy, 17. Ira Farnell (Lincoln, NB), 18. Adam Gavel, 19. Brian Maillet, 20. Courtney Barton (Minto, NB), 21. Tristen Haris, 22. Aaron Belleville.

West Wood Estates Bandolero Feature

1. Mackenzie Brewer (Quispamsis, NB), 2. Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton, NB), 3. Braden Langille (Shubenacadie, NS), 4. Riley Goodwin, 5. Michael Cormier (Moncton, NB), 6. Hudson Weston (Saint John, NB), 7. Nathen Blackburn, 8. Austin MacDonald, 9. Adrian Stairs, 10. Dylan Dowe.  

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing