Connect with us

Eastern Super Mini Cup

Kaat Auto Sales Season Opener, Take Two, for ESMCS Saturday‏

Series Release/Photo by John O’Shea of Miramichi Racing Radio

After having the season opening race postponed for the 3rd season in a row, the Eastern Super Mini Cup Series will finally kick off the 2015 season Saturday at Speedway Miramichi. This time around, the forecast is much more promising for the Season Opener. A 20 lap feature, sponsored by Kaat Auto Sales, will be the main event for the series. A heat and semi race will also be run.

The race will be the first of 8 races in 2015 (pending a rain date for May 31st). It will also be the first race of back to back weekends of racing for the series; which is the only time it is scheduled to happen in 2015 with a race scheduled for next Saturday at Oyster Bed Speedway.

In the weeks since the May 31st rain out, a “new” driver has joined the series. After running a handful of races in 2014, Jared Tozer of Miramichi has purchased the former 55 car from Don Gaudet. He will debut his #22 Dodge on Saturday, with plans to run the full season.

Speedway Miramichi is Tozer’s home track, so he will join Chris Wilson, Derek Goodwin, Kirk Sheasgreen, and Steven Curtis as drivers who call Miramichi their home track. Those 4 drivers have all taken a checkered flag at Miramichi in a mini cup car, but none have done so in a feature race. In fact, no active drivers have picked up a feature win at Speedway Miramichi, so we will have a first time winner at the track on Saturday.

Matt Watson has had success at every track he’s ran in the series, having 4 podium finishes in 4 races. He hopes to extend that streak when he makes his first start at Speedway Miramichi this weekend. He will be driving the #88 car of Don Gaudet, as Don will be racing a new #3 car. Defending Rookie of the Year Mark Ferguson will also be back in 2015 with a new #41 car, and he looks to start his season off strong.

On Saturday, we will finally see the first career starts for 2 drivers; Mike Weagle and Kyle Maher. Weagle has had success in 4 Cylinder cars, but this will be Maher’s first ever race on an oval track. These 2 drivers will be fighting for Rookie of the Year in 2015, joining Peter Murphy as rookies on the series. Murphy is not expected to race this Saturday, but should be in the lineup next weekend at Oyster Bed Speedway.

With defending champion Amanda Wheatley now running in Street Stocks, the door is open for someone to become the next series champion. This year is shaping up to be very competitive, and any one of the drivers in the field could be the champion when the checkered flag flies in October at the Centre for Speed.

Joining the Mini Cups on Saturdays racing card are the Street Stock and 4 Cylinder Divisions, and the Atlantic Modified Tour. There will also be demolition events, and the burnout competition. The green flag drops at 7pm, and grandstand admission is just $15 for adults, $10 for youth, and kids 7 and under are free! Be sure to stay tuned to the Eastern Super Mini Cup Series Facebook page and Twitter account for updates throughout the day Saturday.

A rain date for the May 31st rain out has yet to be officially announced, but a track release stated that it possibly will be in July.

Expected Entries

2 Chris Wilson
3 Don Gaudet
12 Steven Curtis
16 Mike Weagle*
22 Jared Tozer
24 Derek Goodwin
41 Mark Ferguson
43 Kirk Sheasgreen
78 Kyle Maher*
88 Matt Watson

*Denotes Rookies

About the Race Sponsor- Kaat Auto Sales

With a large selection of quality pre-owned vehicles at affordable prices, Kaat Auto Sales is your go to place if you’re in the market for a car! You can find them in Rogersville on Route 126, the quickest and most direct highway between Moncton and Miramichi. Open from 8am-6pm Monday-Saturday, be sure to stop in and see their large selection of vehicles. Be sure to check them out online too, at

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Eastern Super Mini Cup