Connect with us

Maritime Pro Stock Tour

Jonathan Hicken is 2014 TCM Power Performer of the Year

Brudenell, Prince Edward Island’s Jonathan Hicken dug deep at the end of the 2014 season and came out with five feature victories over the last two and a half months of the season at five different race tracks.

Kind of fitting that he drives the #5 K.A. Holdings Inc. Chevrolet on the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour, right?!

Hicken was recognized Saturday night at the Park Place Hotel and Conference Centre, Ramada Plaza in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia at the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour banquet as the Tim’s Corner Motorsports Power Performer of the Year. Hicken was selected from a list of ten finalists that combined for 57 feature wins and eight championships to win the third annual award. Fellow Pro Stock drivers Dave O’Blenis (2012) and Shawn Tucker (2013) have previously won the award. Hicken becomes the first Prince Edward Island based driver to take the award.

Hicken began his season strong with a win at Petty International Raceway during the Irving Oil Blending & Packaging 100 on May 31st with the Tour. In that race, Hicken started from the pole after winning the Dash and led all but one lap in the feature.

In his final nine races of the season, Hicken was lights out.

Beginning with the August 2nd Parts for Trucks 100 at Oyster Bed Speedway, Hicken went on to win five features and would not finish any worse than sixth, which came the next week during the Atlantic Cat 250 at Scotia Speedworld. Hicken led the most laps at the Atlantic Dodge Dealers 150 at Petty Raceway during the International weekend and from that point on, never finished off the podium for the rest of the season. He was third at Riverside in September, took the win at the Dartmouth Dodge 200 at Scotia Speedworld, was runner-up at the Mike Stevens Memorial 150 at Petty Raceway and won out the season at the ‘Chi City Showdown at Speedway Miramichi and took his second consecutive Atlantic Championships at the CENTRE For Speed.

Sure, to win five of your last nine races (56% winning percentage if you’re keeping score) is spectacular, especially with the talent in the Pro Stock division in Atlantic Canada. To do it at five different race tracks – Oyster Bed Speedway, Petty Raceway, Scotia Speedworld, Speedway Miramichi and CENTRE For Speed, each with different traits and characteristics, is something really special. Add in the prestige of a hometown win, the River Glade International, Dartmouth Dodge 200, the first Pro Stock race in Miramichi in 15 years and the Atlantic Championships, it only adds to how special this run truly was.

Not to mention he finished second in the point standings on the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour to five-time champion John Flemming. The second place run by Hicken is the highest point finish by any Prince Edward Island based driver in the Tour era (2001 to present). In addition to his four Tour feature wins, he had five podiums, seven top fives and 11 top tens in 12 races. His only finish outside the top ten this season? Ironically, it came at Petty Raceway, a track he had so much success at, in June when he finished 15th in the Lucas Oil 100. He also completed the most laps of any driver of the Tour, running 1,798 of the possible 1,800 laps on the series in 2014.


We congratulate Jonathan Hicken on his incredible 2014 season. Hicken received his award banner at the 2014 Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour Awards Gala on Saturday, November 22nd in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia. Special thanks to JDR Graphics fro the banner artwork and McCarthy Photographic for the pictures used on the winner banner.

Photos by Mike McCarthy/McCarthy Photographic, John O’Shea/Miramichi Racing Radio

2014  TCM Power Performer of the Year Nominees

Name – Home Track/Series – Division (Prov.)

Jason Baglole – Oyster Bed Speedway – Mini Stock (PE)
Dylan Blenkhorn – Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour (NS)
Jason Fenton – Scotia Speedworld – Trucks (NS)
Cory Hall – Petty Raceway – Bandoleros (NB)
Jonathan Hicken – Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour (PE)
J.R. Lawson – Petty Raceway – Mini Stock (NS)
Robbie MacEwen – Oyster Bed Speedway – Late Model (PE)
Nicholas Naugle – Scotia Speedworld – Legends (NS)
Russell Smith Jr – Petty Raceway – Sportsman (NS)
Amanda Wheatley – Eastern Mini Cup (PE)

Past Champions:

2014 – Jonathan Hicken of Brudenell, PE
2013 – Shawn Tucker of Fredericton, NB
2012 – Dave O’Blenis of Boundary Creek, NB


About Tim’s Corner Motorsports:

Tim’s Corner began as a weekly stock car racing column appearing on and, penned by track and series announcer Tim Terry. It has now grown to include basic media services for motorsport teams big and small., the official website of Tim’s Corner Motorsports, also features Tim’s Corner Unplugged, a podcast hosted by Terry which focuses on the motorsports scene. For more information on Tim’s Corner and services offered, visit!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Pro Stock Tour