Connect with us

Maritime Pro Stock Tour

Flemming Officially Crowned 2014 Champion at the Pro Stock Tour Awards Gala

Series Release

(November 22, 2014 – Dartmouth, NS) – Halifax, Nova Scotia’s John Flemming re-wrote the history books in 2014, and now officially can call himself a five-time Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour Championship following the Awards Banquet for the series Saturday in Burnside, Nova Scotia. Flemming is the only five- time champion in the series 14 year history, winning the title in 2002, 2003, 2006, 2013 and 2014. With his championship comes a $10,000 payday from series sponsor Parts for Trucks and a championship ring commissioned by Inglis Jewellers.

While Flemming fifth championship was a focal point of the evening, the Tour also honoured their full- time teams who competed on the 12 event, five track series in 2014. The teams shared in the $50,000 Parts for Trucks Point Fund that was presented Saturday night.

In addition to the presentation of the point fund were a number of contingency and vendor awards. Sarah McKay (Quispamsis, NB) received the Exide Batteries Rookie of the Year Award, becoming the first female driver in series history to pick up the award. McKay finished 11th in the overall series standings.

Dylan Blenkhorn’s (Truro, NS) quick qualifying speeds in five of the 12 races this season was enough to earn him the Atlantic Tiltload Time Trial Award. Blenkhorn generously donated his cash award to the Brody & David Stevens Living Memorial Fund.

Cole Butcher (Porter’s Lake, NS) picked up the Urquhart MacDonald Most Improved Driver Award. The Most Improved Driver Award is given to the competitor who gained the most positions in the point standings over the previous season.

Shawn Tucker (Fredericton, NB) won The EIT Race Radios Consitency Award. The Consistency Award goes to the highest finishing driver without a feature win during the season.

Flemming took home the Linde Most Laps Led Award after pacing the field for 523 or 30% of feature laps in 2014. Flemming led laps in nine of the 12 events last season.

Kent Vincent (Crapaud,PE) took home the Cathy Ledwidge Memorial Most Sportsmanlike Driver Award as voted on by his peers, the award is considered one of the most prestigious to win on the series.

The Irving Oil Blending & Packaging Fan Favorite Award was presented to Jonathan Hicken (Brudenell, PE). Hicken received over 25% of the on-line votes.

Vendor draws were made among the full-time teams on the Tour from four series sponsors. R&D Performancenter in Lower Onslow, Nova Scotia presented McKay with a $300 gift certificate. Greg Proude (Springvale,PE) took home a new Five Star Body. MK Auto Products presented an ARBody to Hicken.

Butcher was the recipient of a Miller Electric Welder courtesy of Linde. The Welder is used throughout the season and then awarded to one team at the gala via a random draw.

Lucas Oil presented three drivers with $750 product sponsorships for the 2015 season. The lucky recipients were Darren MacKinnon (Charlottetown, PE), Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS) and Tucker.

Tim’s Corner Motorsports (TCM) presented four of their Best of Maritime Racing Awards at the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour banquet – the TCM Most Popular Driver to McKay, the TCM Power Performer of the Year to Jonathan Hicken, TCM Breakout Performer of the Year to Blenkhorn and the TCM Fan Favorite Touring Series to the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour.

Rudi Foster of Parts for Truck presented Junior and Brenda Kelly with a cheque for $3000 for the Scott Kelly Memorial Toy Fund at the IWK Children’s Hospital. 100% of series hat and T-shirt sales each season are donated to the charity. Over the last four seasons the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour has donated over $13,000 to the Scott Kelly Memorial Toy Fund.

With the 2014 season officially in the books, focus now shifts to the 2015, which marks the 15th anniversary season for the series. For breaking news and information on the upcoming season, please visit


About the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour:
The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour (PST) is considered the highest level of stock car racing in Canada. The Tour is recognized in the industry as one of the healthiest stock car racing series in North America. PST visits five tracks throughout the Maritimes during its May through September season. The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour is owned and operated by Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited. For more information, call our administration office at 902.481.2531 or click . You can also follow us on Twitter at   and like us on Facebook at


Jonathan Hicken was announced as the 2014 TCM Power Performer of the Year at the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour banquet in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia on Saturday. (MCCARTHY PHOTOGRAPHIC)


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Pro Stock Tour