Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Scotia Speedworld Closes 2014 Season With Annual Awards Banquet

Track Release

(TRURO, NS) – The curtain officially fell on the 2014 racing season at Scotia Speedworld on Saturday night at the Best Western Glengarry in Truro, Nova Scotia with the Annual Awards Banquet for the track’s Weekly Racing Series. The gala event saw over 300 team members, staff, family, and friends gather to honor the accomplishments of the drivers in the Scotia Speedworld Weekly Racing Series, the largest in Atlantic Canada, over the past season.

Drivers who competed in 80% or more of the events at Scotia Speedworld in 2014 were eligible for point hardware at the annual event in Nova Scotia’s “Hubtown,” which encompassed 78 drivers between the Dartmouth Dodge Sportsman, Strictly Hydraulics Legends, Coors Light Trucks, Thunder, Lightning and Hydraulics Plus Bandolero divisions. The Maritime League of Legends Tour also honored their full time point competitors, led by Justin MacNeill of Bedford, who took home his second consecutive Tour title on Saturday night.

The following are a list of contingency awards and vendor draws for each division. Door prizes on the night were supplied by Leaf Racewear, Simply Automotive and Scotia Speedworld.

Dartmouth Dodge Sportsman Division
Champion (Roma Brothers Memorial Trophy): Darren Wallage of Oakfield
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Darren Wallage of Oakfield
R&D Performancentre Five Star Body Re-Skin Package Draw: Tony Leonard of Goodwood

Strictly Hydraulics Legends Division
Champion: Cole Butcher of Porter’s Lake
Tim Hortons at the Airport Rookie of the Year: Nicholas Naugle of Dartmouth
Cathy Ledwidge Memorial Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Cole Butcher of Porter’s Lake
R&D Performancentre $200 Gift Certificate Draw: Cole Butcher of Porter’s Lake

Coors Light Truck Division
Champion: Dan Smith of Lower Sackville
Tim Hortons at the Airport Rookie of the Year: Cory Leonard of Goodwood
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Jamie Creamer of Spryfield

Thunder Division
Champion: Dave Matthews of Kennetcook
Tim Hortons at the Airport Rookie of the Year: Brad Hayes of Head of Jeddore
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Drew MacEachern of Dartmouth

Lightning Division
Champion: Mike Brown of Urbania
Tim Hortons at the Airport Rookie of the Year: Steve Matthews of Bedford
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Kenny Hopper of Enfield

Hydraulics Plus Bandolero Division
Champion: Braden Langille of Shubenacadie
Tim Hortons at the Airport Rookie of the Year: Austin MacDonald of Pictou
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Megan Parrott of Beaverbank
R&D Performance $200 Gift Certificate Draw: Megan Parrott of Beaverbank

Maritime League of Legends Tour
Champion: Justin MacNeill of Bedford
Rookie of the Year: Nicholas Naugle of Dartmouth


With the Annual Awards Banquet in the books for 2014, the focus will begin to shift to 2015. All information, including dates, times and location for rules meetings for each division, will be found on our website at in the coming weeks. You can also visit our social media platforms including Facebook (@sswracing) and Twitter (@sswracing).

About Scotia Speedworld:
Scotia Speedworld (SSW) is a 3/10-mile asphalt oval racing facility. SSW is the only track in Nova Scotia to host a weekly racing series, which runs May through September and features six different classes of racecars. SSW also hosts special events, including Monster Jam and the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour. SSW is located at Exit 6 on Highway 102, across from the Halifax Stanfield International Airport. For more information please click on or call our Event Hotline at (902) 873-2277 or our office at (902) 481-2514. Like us on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing