Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Reid Comes From Behind to Win NAPA Sportsman Title at CBMMS

For the second consecutive year, the NAPA Sportsman Series championship point leader heading into the final event did not come out with the championship.

When all the dust settled, Chris Reid had won the caution free Gillis Home Hardware 100 at Cape Breton Miners Memorial Speedway for his third win in seven races on the series. He trailed Dale Richardson by 13 points heading into the final feature of the season after gaining three points in the qualifying heat races, and with Richardson’s fifth place finish, had tied the #55 for the championship.

The tiebreaker was wins, which Reid had three of to Richardson’s one.

Richardson had started third and held the position until Lap 33 when Shawn Waterfield made the move on the #55 to dispatch him to fourth. Richardson had then been hounded by Ken Magliaro and rookie Cole Tanner for many laps before Magliaro made the pass for fourth with 65 laps remaining. The #82 was followed by the #31 car, who swapped positions two laps later. Richardson passed Magliaro for the fifth place spot with 20 laps to go, but could not catch fourth.

Meanwhile, up at the very front, Chris Reid led his brother Kyle Reid from the opening four laps, where the two ran side-by-side, to the finish of the race. Waterfield finished a fading third with his car on seven cylinders at the end of the race after storming to the front of the field. Tanner, in his first Sportsman start at the tough Sydney oval, and Richardson completed the top five in the 14 car field.

The come from behind championship victory comes one year after Aaron Boutilier ended up as the NAPA Sportsman Series champion when Ross Lewis found trouble on the final lap in the finale last year at Riverside Speedway.

Jeffrey Breen was crowned the NAPA Sportsman Series Rookie of the Year.

NAPA Sportsman – Unofficial Results – Gillis Home Hardware 100
8 Chris Reid
42 Kyle Reid
23 Shawn Waterfield
31 Cole Tanner
55 Dale Richardson
82 Ken Magliaro
96 Steve Ross
29 Darren Price
57 John Biron
19 Brian MacLeod
47 Dave Timmons
2 Jeffrey Breen
88 Ross Lewis
35 Hughie Ricards

Vance MacDonald edged out Mike Roziki for the win in the final Cape Breton Trailer Sales Street Stock feature of the season, which was dominated by Jerry Hayes before a fuel pump failed with two laps to go. Mike MacLeod finished third, enough to lock up the division championship over Joey Rudderham.

StreetStock – Unofficial Results

27 Vance MacDonald
44 Mike Rozicki
17 Mike MacLeod
5 Joey Rudderham
67 Kody Quinn
33 Shawn Cole Jr
42 John Halliday
38 Jerry Hayes
23 Jamie Vassallo
4 Sheldon MacSween
18 Colton Beaver
7 Jason Lynd


It was a Halifax party in Sydney as mainlanders swept the top five spots in the Jay’s Chicken and Ribs 35 for the Cat Rental Store Mini Stocks. Two-time Scotia Speedworld champion Tim Webster of Beaverbank saved his first win of 2014 for the final race of the season, pocketing $300 in one of the biggest Mini Stock wins of his career. He was chased to the line by JR Lawson and “The Ironman” Drew MacEachern, who edged out Kyle MacMillan in a photo finish. The Speedworld’s top rookie Brad Hayes was fifth in the 23 car field.

Josh Benac finished eighth in the Jay’s Chicken and Ribs 35, ahead of Rookie of the Year Kody Quinn in 11th, to capture the Cat Rental Store Mini Stock track championship.

Mini Unofficial Results – Jay’s Chicken and Ribs 35

36 Tim Webster
87 JR Lawson
13 Drew MacEachern
15 Kyle MacMillan
17 Brad Hayes
31 Adam Vassallo
18 Lynden MacDougall
3 Josh Benac
1 AJ Ford
8 Arthur MacNamara
88 Kody Quinn
10 Colin Nickerson
26 Brennan MacInnis
2 Brian Axworthy
5 David Jollimore
71 Jonathan MacInnis
23 Ashley Vassallo
11 Francis Vassallo
24 Rhonda Kelloway
42 Brandon MacMillan
41 Adam Devoe
86 Jeff Gilmet
DNS – 62 Jeffrey Gilbert



Thanks to Tim’s Corner Motorsports partners on the weekend – including 581 Motorsports, Blazin Sounds Sydney and Shawn’s Simple Signs.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing