Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Snell, Lawson Big Winners in Chi City Showdown Night One

UPDATED – Added Sportsman Results
Devin Snell is on a roll.

After picking up the NAPA CMax 100 last weekend at Petty Raceway, he continued on up the north shore and took home the big win in the Chi City Showdown Sportsman 100 at Speedway Miramichi. Snell, who won his heat race, started on the pole position and held the lead for all 100 laps.

Bill Sommerville, in the final race of his full-time racing career, had one of the fastest cars on the track at the end of the race but would wind up second ahead of last year’s September winner Dave O’Blenis. Only three of the 12 starters finished on the lead lap in a race that saw only one caution on the first lap of the race, which sidelined Ken Murray from the event.

“We may as well go to Shediac now, this roll we are on is unbelievable,” said Snell in victory lane. “We needed that long green flag run, because I knew Bill would be quick, but we had a huge lead on him under green.”

Luc Bougeois won the second qualifying heat. Full results for Sportsman were unavailable from the track at time of publishing, as well as final NB Big Dawg Challenge Standings.

JR Lawson came in as the point leader in the NB Big Dawg Challenge Mini Stock standings, and kept it by winning the Mini Stock feature. A late race caution, which featured an alternation with lapped car Eugene Weagle, driving for Patricia Taylor, and second place driver Brad Daley, set up a 13-lap dash to the finish. Timmy Blakely led the most laps in the main event before being passed by Daley and then Lawson, who was third at the time of the yellow.

Robert Miner captured his first Atlantic Modified Tour victory over Joe Hoyt and fan favorite Tom Betts. Brandon Skidmore and Miner each took heat wins. Complete results will be available when made official by the series.

Amanda Wheatley closed her Eastern Super Mini Cup Series season with her sixth win in seven races with a dominant victory over Chris Wilson and Derek Goodwin. Wheatley, who won the 2014 series championship, also won the heat race. Complete results will be available when made official by the series.

The Chi City Showdown continues Saturday at Speedway Miramichi with the Pro Stocks making their return for the first time since 1999 in a 125-lap event. They will be joined by the Street Stock and Bandolero finales of the NB Big Dawg Challenge. Racing begins at 6pm with a Pro Stock autograph session at 5:30pm.

SPORTSMAN 75 RESULTS – Added September 29th

1. #10 Devin Snell
2. #27 Bill Sommerville
3. #48 Dave O’Blenis
4. #88 Luc Bourgeois
5. #74 Alexandra O’Blenis
6. #33 Denis Mallet
7. #85 Kenny MacKenzie Jr
8. #19 Dawson McIntee
9. #24 Marc Williams
10. #46 Keith C Daley
11. #97 Kim Hallihan
12. #22 Ken Murray


1st – #81 JR Lawson
2nd – #66 Brad Daley
3rd – #23 Timmy Blakely
4th – #22 Kyle MacKinnon
5th – #00 Dave Clark
6th – #28 Chris Sickles
7th – #17 Sam Flieger
8th – #77 Ira Farnell
9th – #0 Rob Poirier
10th – #29 Casey Munn
11th – #10 Eugene Weagle
12th – #71 Neil Miousse

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing