Connect with us

Maritime Racing

David Lambe Memorial Sunday Afternoon at Oyster Bed

Oyster Bed Speedway will play host to one of their premier races of the season — the David Lambe Memorial — this Sunday at 2 p.m.

The “Piston Cup” is back for the fourth time with some modifications to the feature race.

Race organizer Robbie MacLean explains that drivers did express concerns over the length of the race. “In the past few years we did 75 laps and for most Street Stock cars that is definitely pushing the cars to their limit,” said MacLean. “We decided to drop it back to a 50-lap race and so far it has paid off in the fact that we have more cars confirmed from off Island than ever before.”

MacLean has confirmations from seven cars from Maritime tracks plus a few more drivers expressing interest in coming for the prestigious race. Add that into the high car count of local cars and a field of more than 20 cars is a definite possibility vying for the thousand dollar purse.

The competition in the division all season long has been tight with 12 different drivers recording wins.

Topping that list is division leader, Mark MacLean, scoring eight heat wins plus four feature wins including the last feature ran in the division.

Mark LeClair is second in total wins for the division with six heat wins plus three features.

Former division champion, Nick Chaisson, who has been in the top three all season long, has eight total wins on the season including two feature wins.

One driver who has been racking up wins lately has been Emmett Donahue, who has picked up several wins including a triple win on Aug. 16 since coming out of retirement midway through the season.

The only other driver in the division to have a feature win is Alex Sheehan. Currently second in points, Sheehan has amassed 23 top-three finishes including four heat wins and one feature.

So far this season, defending champion Stephen Gass has not raced a single lap. After learning that his race team has been mounting tires, it is expected that Gass will make his long-awaited return to the Speedway for Sunday’s race.

Not only does the car have a season championship trophy, but it also has been awarded the Piston Cup twice. In the inaugural race, Darren MacKinnon drove the car to victory in 2011, followed by a 2012 repeat win with Gass driving in the second year.

The race card will also feature Mini Four-Fun, Outlaw, and Late Model classes.
This is the third last scheduled event of the season.

Written by Jeremy MacDonald who is the Speedway Announcer

Past Winners
2013 – Geoff Boyle
2012 – Stephen Gass
2011 – Darren MacKinnon

# CAR# Driver Heat Wins Feature Wins
1 82 Mark MacLean 8 4
2 06 Alex Sheehan 4 1
3 27 Nick Chaisson 6 2
4 00 Jamie Stewart 4 0
5 29 Jeff MacInnis 0 0

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing