Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Big Night for O’Blenis Motorsports at Speedway 660

Track Release/Speedway 660 File Photo

On Saturday night Alexandra O’Blenis became the first lady driver to ever win a Sportsman feature at Speedway 660. Alexandra, who also won her Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman heat race, won the 30 lap feature ahead of Drew Greenlaw and Brent Roy. Jason Shannon won the other heat race and Brent Roy won the dash.

“I am so pumped right now and can’t believe I just won a Sportman feature at Speedway 660, this team has worked so hard to give me a great car and to do this as a rookie is just incredible” said a jubilant O’Blenis from the Riverview Ford Victory Lane. “A couple of weeks ago I led most of the Sportsman feature and got passed with three laps to go, but tonight there was no way I was going to let that happen.”

Alexandra wasn’t the only O’Blenis to visit victory lane on Fan Appreciation Night, which was presented by the New Hot 92.3 – Fredericton’s Number One Hit Music Station. Her sister Courtney dominated the Westwood Estate Apartments Bandolero feature to pick up the win. And that put the pressure on their Father Dave who had to drive the wheels off his race car to get to victory lane in the Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock feature.

“I am so proud of my girls tonight, Courtney did an awesome job in her Bando feature and then Alexandra made a determined effort to win the Sportsman feature, so that put the pressure on me to win or else I was going to have to listen to them tease me all week” said Dave O’Blenis. “These girls don’t just drive the race cars, they are in the garage every day working on their cars, they aren’t scared to get a little grease on their hands and turn a wrench or two, so they have earned these wins.”

Cole Boudreau had another great run to take second in the Pro Stock feature, while Brady Creamer finished third. Brian Gillespie won his heat race and the dash, while Big Kevin Moore took the other heat. Cole Tanner and Levi Rossiter finished second and third in the Bando feature. Rossiter also won his heat race and Courtney O’Blenis took top spot in the other heat.

Geoff Tugwell continued his streak of strong performances in the DMR Auto Sales & Service Street Stock division. Tugwell picked up the Jensen Financial Hat-Trick Award by winning his heat, dash and feature. Benji Ruff was second in the feature, followed by Tyler Seveck who also won the other Street Stock heat race.

Matt Crocker continued his winning ways by taking another Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter feature. Crocker crossed the finish line ahead of Jeremy Doran and Malcolm Suley. Curtis Collins and Kyle MacKinnon won the Sharp Shooter heat races.

Next Saturday, it’s the Night of Champions at Speedway 660. Rookie of the Year Awards and Championship will be decided in all five divisions. And then it’s SpeedWeekend 2014 from August 29th until September 1st.

Speedway 660 Feature Results, August 16th, 2014

Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman

1. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 2. Drew Greenlaw (Eastport, ME), 3. Brent Roy (Hanwell, NB), 4. Matt Rodgers (Smithtown, NB), 5. Jason Shannon (Hoyt, NB), 6. George Jamieson (Fredericton, NB), 7. Andrew Rodgers (Smithtown, NB), 8. Dawson McIntee (Moncton, NB), 9. Steve Seveck (Temperance Vale, NB), 10. Corey Little (Rowley, NB), 11. Byron Bartlett (Quispamsis, NB), 12. Nick Cadger, 13. Shawn Warren (Waasis, NB), 14. Justin Cole (Harvey , NB).

Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stocks

1. Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 2. Cole Boudreau (Chipman, NB), 3. Brady Creamer (Miramichi, NB), 4. Dana Hamm (Fredericton, NB), 5. Chris Duncan (Hampton, NB), 6. Glyn Nott (Burton, NB), 7. Paul Gahan (Lower St Mary’s, NB), 8. Brad Mann, 9. Brian Gillespie (Nackawic, NB), 10. Kevin Moore (Fredericton, NB), 11. Kevin Boyle (Hampton, NB), 12. Alicia Mowat (Hardwood Ridge, NB), 13. Derek Christie (Fredericton, NB), 14. John Rankin (St.Martins, NB), 15. Dustin Tucker (Fredericton, NB), 16. Calvin Rankin (Quispamsis, NB).

Westwood Estate Apartments Bandoleros

1. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 2. Cole Tanner (Shubenacadie, NS), 3. Levi Rossiter, 4. Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton, NB), 5. Mackenzie Brewer (Quispamsis, NB), 6. Hudson Weston (Saint John, NB), 7. Michael Cormier (Moncton, NB), 8. Kyle Orr (Saint John, NB), 9. Cory Hall (Jolicure, NB), 10. Riley Goodwin.

Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooters

1. Matt Crocker (Fredericton, NB), 2. Jeremy Doran (Fredericton, NB), 3. Malcolm Suley (Clarendon, NB), 4. Kyle MacKinnon, 5. Curtis Collins, 6. Scott Goodine (Bear Island, NB), 7. Darren Beatty (Lakeville Corner, NB), 8. Kyle Boudreau, 9. Ryan Richard, 10. James Courtney (Woodstock, ), 11. Brody Levesque (Fredericton, ), 12. Brian Maillet, 13. James McCoy, 14. Bryan Suttie (Keswick, NB), 15. Neil Miousse (Fredericton, NB), 16. Ira Farnell (Lincoln, NB).

DMR Auto Sales & Service Street Stocks

1. Geoff Tugwell (Moncton, NB), 2. Benji Ruff (Carlow, NB), 3. Tyler Seveck (Nackawic, NB), 4. Luc McLaughlin (Geary, NB), 5. Robert Raynes (Summerville, NB), 6. Roger Slocum (Chipman, NB), 7. Rick Cashol (Saint John, NB), 8. Shawn Hyslop (St. Stephen, NB), 9. Chuck Morton (Lincoln, NB), 10. chuck mercer, 11. Ryan Raynes, 12. Peter Martin (Saint John, NB), 13. T.J. Madore (Geary, NB), 14. Andre Chamberlain (Fredericton, ), 15. Heidi Cooper (Hanwell, NB), 16. Destiny Enkel (Saint John, NB), 17. Eric Matthew, 18. Kenny Hartley (Saint John, NB).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing