Connect with us

Maritime Racing

O’Blenis Takes Firecracker 150, Tanner Has a “Blast” at Speedway 660

Track Release

For the second year in a row, Dave O’Blenis has won the Firecracker 150 at Speedway 660. On Saturday night O’Blenis had a dominate car and drove a perfect race to win one of the season’s biggest Sportsman events.

“This is a new car and I was kind of worried about how it was going to handle in one of these longer races, but things worked out pretty good even though we had a bit of an issue with about 25 laps to go” said O’Blenis. “Our crew did a great job to change our flat tire after the caution came out and we had enough time to come to the front and win this thing for the second year in a row.”

Andrew Rodgers and his brother Matt finished second and third in the Firecracker 150. O’Blenis and Brent Roy won the Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman heat races.
“Our Dad Steve is a genius, he sets these cars up and they are a pleasure to drive” said Andrew Rodgers. “Dave is a great driver and a class act, he’s hard to beat in these longer races, but we’ll see what we can do on SpeedWeekend in the Irving Oil Blending and Packaging 150.”

The Westwood Estate Apartments Bandolero drivers put on a great show too. The 30 lap Bando Blast was hotly contested and in the end it was Cole Tanner who took the checkered flag. Cory Hall and Ashton Tucker finished second and third. Rookie Levi Rossiter and Courtney O`Blenis won the heat races.

“I want to dedicate this win to the late Scott Fraser who was from my home-town of Shubenacadie, Nova Scotia” said Tanner from the Riverview Ford Victory Lane. “I know everyone here was a big fan of Scott and although I am too young to remember, I hear he used to dominate a lot of races here at Speedway 660.”

The DMR Auto Sales & Service Street Stock drivers had an exciting run in their 20 lap feature. Five time champion Rick Cashol proved he still knows how to get it done by winning the race. Rob Raynes and Geoff Tugwell were second and third. Tyler Seveck and Cashol won the Street Stock heat races, while Raynes took the checkered flag in the dash.

Rookie Kyle Boudreau had a night to remember in the Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter Division. Boudreau won the feature, while Kyle MacKinnon drove home second and Jeremy Doran finished third. Doran and MacKinnon won the Sharp Shooter heat races.

Speedway 660 only has three weekends of racing remaining in the 2014 season. Next Saturday it’s the popular Fan Appreciation Night, followed by the Night of Champions on August 23rd and SpeedWeekend on Labour Day weekend.

Speedway 660 Feature Results – August 9th, 2014
Martins Home Heating Firecracker 150
1. Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 2. Andrew Rodgers (Smithtown, NB), 3. Matt Rodgers (Smithtown, NB), 4. Brent Roy (Hanwell, NB), 5. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 6. George Jamieson (Fredericton, NB), 7. Greg Fahey (St. Stephen, NB), 8. Jason Shannon (Hoyt, NB), 9. Steve Seveck (Temperance Vale, NB), 10. Kirk Jardine (Oromocto, NB), 11. Drew Greenlaw (Eastport, ME), 12. Matt Maillet (Burton, NB), 13. Dawson McIntee (Moncton, NB), 14. Byron Bartlett (Quispamsis, NB), 15. Daniel Clark (Fredericton, NB), 16. Nick Cadger.
Westwood Estate Apartments Bando Blast
1. Cole Tanner (Shubenacadie, NS), 2. Cory Hall (Jolicure, NB), 3. Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton, NB), 4. Levi Rossiter, 5. Michael Cormier (Moncton, NB), 6. Kyle Orr (Saint John, NB), 7. Mackenzie Brewer (Quispamsis, NB), 8. Riley Goodwin, 9. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 10. Hudson Weston (Saint John, NB).
Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooters
1. Kyle Boudreau, 2. Kyle MacKinnon, 3. Jeremy Doran (Fredericton, NB), 4. Brody Levesque (Fredericton, ), 5. Matt Crocker (Fredericton, NB), 6. Malcolm Suley (Clarendon, NB), 7. Darren Beatty (Lakeville Corner, NB), 8. Stephen Moorcroft (Fredericton, NB), 9. Bryan Suttie (Keswick, NB), 10. Scott Goodine (Bear Island, NB), 11. Curtis Collins, 12. Chris Savoie, 13. Brian Maillet, 14. Ira Farnell (Lincoln, NB), 15. Neil Miousse (Fredericton, NB), 16. Courtney Barton (Minto, NB).
DMR Auto Sales & Service Street Stocks
1. Rick Cashol (Saint John, NB), 2. Robert Raynes (Summerville, NB), 3. Geoff Tugwell (Moncton, NB), 4. Justin Cole (Harvey , NB), 5. Benji Ruff (Carlow, NB), 6. Luc McLaughlin (Geary, NB), 7. Ryan Raynes, 8. Peter Martin (Saint John, NB), 9. Chuck Morton (Lincoln, NB), 10. chuck mercer, 11. Destiny Enkel (Saint John, NB), 12. Andre Chamberlain (Fredericton, ), 13. Roger Slocum (Chipman, NB), 14. Tyler Seveck (Nackawic, NB), 15. Heidi Cooper (Hanwell, NB),

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing