Connect with us

Maritime Racing

20th Annual Shriners Classic, $20/Carload Admission Friday at Scotia Speedworld

Track Release/Photo by McCarthy Photographic

The 20th Annual Shriner’s Classic for the Dartmouth Dodge Sportsman is set for Friday night at Scotia Speedworld. The Shriner’s Classic is the longest running active race in consecutive years in Atlantic Canada with its 20th anniversary edition taking place this Friday. To celebrate this milestone anniversary Scotia Speedworld is offering $20 a car load admission for grandstand seating! In addition to the 50 lap Sportsman feature fans will also enjoy great racing from the Hydraulics Plus Bandoleros, Coors Light Trucks, Lightning cars and the Strictly Hydraulics Legends. Gates open at 5:00PM and racing starts at 7:00PM.

The first annual Shriner’s Classic was held in 1995 as a Street Stock race and was later transferred to the Sportsman class when the Street Stock division was dissolved. Many of the region’s short track stars have won the prestigious race, including the late Terry Roma, who went to victory lane in the event three times. Jeff Dillman tied Roma’s record in 2012 with his third Classic victory. Two- time winners of the Shriner’s Classic include 2013 Atlantic CAT 250 winner Craig Slaunwhite and Harry Ross White who currently leads the Dartmouth Dodge Sportsman championship chase.

Scotia Speedworld and the Dartmouth Shrine Club have raised over $280,000 since 1988, which has gone towards IWK Children’s Charities. Be sure to pick up your 50/50 tickets at the track on Friday night and help the Shrine Club and the IWK Children’s Charities.

Shriner’s Classic Past Winners

1995 – Gordie Ryan (#65)
1996 – Troy Slaunwhite (#80)
1997 – Terry Roma (#38)
1998 – Ron Tibert (#64)
1999 – Mel Tibert (#01)
2000 – Harry Ross White (#18)
2001 – Tony Leonard (#74)
2002 – James Graves (#27)
2003 – Craig Slaunwhite (#99)
2004 – Terry Roma (#38)
2005 – Terry Roma (#38)
2006 – Sheldon Pemberton (#62)
2007 – Craig Slaunwhite (#99)
2008 – Harry Ross White (#18)
2009 – Jeff Dillman (#08)
2010 – Colby Smith (#77)
2011 – Jeff Dillman (#08)
2012 –Jeff Dillman (#0)
2013 – Darren Wallage (#3)

Format for July 25th

Click here for printable format

Pit Gate opens 4:30 p.m.
Tech Inspection starts 4:30 p.m.
Practice starts (BN, TR, LG, SP, LI) 5:00 p.m.
Grandstands open 5:00 p.m.
Practice ends 6:25 p.m.
Drivers Meeting @ line-up board – all divisions 6:35 p.m.

Opening Ceremonies          7:00 p.m.

Hydraulics Plus Bandolero – 8 laps
Coors Light Trucks – 10 laps
Strictly Hydraulics Legends – 10 laps
Dartmouth Dodge Sportsman – 10 laps
Lightning Cars – 10 laps

Hydraulics Plus Bandolero – 15 laps
Coors Light Trucks – 25 laps
Strictly Hydraulics Legends – 25 laps
Shriners Classic – 50 laps
Lightning Cars – 25 laps

*format subject to change without notice

About Scotia Speedworld:
Scotia Speedworld (SSW) is a 3/10-mile asphalt oval racing facility. SSW is the only track in Nova Scotia to host a weekly racing series, which runs May through September and features six different classes of racecars. SSW also hosts special events, including Monster Jam and the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour. SSW is located at Exit 6 on Highway 102, across from the Halifax Stanfield International Airport. For more information please click on or call our Event Hotline at (902) 873-2277 or our office at (902) 481-2514. Like us on Facebook at and follow us on Twitter

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing