Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Andrew Rodgers Cashes In On Martin’s Home Heating 100

Track Release/Michelle Roy Photo

Andrew Rodgers won the Martin’s Home Heating 100 on Saturday night at Speedway 660. The Smithtown teenager celebrated the biggest win of his young racing career by taking the first big Sportsman race of the year and pocketing $3000.

Andrew Rodgers led the first 90 laps and looked like he had the race in the bag, when the first of three late cautions came out. Then Rodgers had to go to work and hold off Brent Roy for the win. Roy actually led lap number 99 before Rodgers made a last lap pass for the victory.

“This is amazing, it’s unbelievable, we worked so hard, this crew gave me a great car tonight and we were cruising along when those late cautions came out and really had to dig deep to get this win” said Andrew Rodgers, from the Riverview Ford Victory Lane. “Brent raced me hard and raced me clean and both of us drove our cars deep into turn one on the last lap, luckily for me our car stuck and his bobbled just a bit to allow us to  take the lead and the win.”

Rodgers and John Rankin won the Sportsman heat races while Dave O’Blenis was the fastest in time trials. Greg Fahey rolled home third behind Rodgers and Roy in the Martin’s Home Heating 100.

“We sure wanted to win this race and I thought those last couple of cautions really set us up to get after Andrew, but he had a fast car and stayed focused and composed and deserved the win” said Brent Roy. “I don’t know what its going to take, but we’ve got to just keep working hard and one of these times we’ll get to victory lane in one of these big Sportsman races.”

The Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock Division drivers put on a good show for Speedway 660 fans on Saturday night. Derek Christie won his first-ever Pro Stock feature, but had to hold off rookie sensation Cole Boudreau who finished second and almost stole the show. Dave O’Blenis finished third in the feature, while Paul Gahan and Brian Gillespie won the heat races.

Rob Raynes continued his torrid pace in the DMR Auto Sales & Service Street Stock Division. Raynes, who has finished on the podium every time out this year picked up his first feature victory. Peter Martin drove to a second place finish, while Justin Cole settled for third. Benji Ruff and T.J. “Hollywood” Madore won the heat races.

Jeremy Doran was a happy racer on Saturday night. After ending up on his roof the last time out, Jeremy won the Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter feature. Ira Farnell was second, while Courtney Barton claimed third in her first podium finish of the year. Doran and Farnell also were winners in the heat races.

Cory Hall became the first Westwood Estate Apartments Bandolero driver to win two features in 2014. Hall made a late pass on Ashton Tucker for the win. Tucker settled for second place while MacKenzie Brewer was third. Hall and Tucker won their heat races.

Speedway 660 is getting ready for a double-header next weekend. On Saturday night (June 28th) the Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooters will run a 30 lap feature. There will also be point racing in the four other divisions. Then on Sunday afternoon (June 29th) the first ENDURO 200 lap race of the season will be the feature attraction.

SPEEDWAY 660 FEATURE RESULTS  -June 21st, 2014

Martins Home Heating Sportsman 100

*official results will be posted after tech inspection has been completed.

Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock Division
1. Derek Christie (Fredericton, NB), 2. Cole Boudreau (Chipman, NB), 3. Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 4. Kevin Moore (Fredericton, NB), 5. Chris Duncan (Hampton, NB), 6. Glyn Nott (Burton, NB), 7. Paul Gahan (Lower St Mary’s, NB), 8. Brad Mann, 9. Calvin Rankin (Quispamsis, NB), 10. Dana Hamm (Fredericton, NB), 11. Kevin Boyle (Hampton, NB), 12. Brian Gillespie (Nackawic, NB),

DMR AUto Sales& Service Street Stock Division
Feature:1. Robert Raynes (Summerville, NB), 2. Peter Martin (Saint John, NB), 3. Justin Cole (Harvey , NB), 4. Luc McLaughlin (Geary, NB), 5. T.J. Madore (Geary, NB), 6. Rick Cashol (Saint John, NB), 7. Roger Slocum (Chipman, NB), 8. Geoff Tugwell (Moncton, NB), 9. Benji Ruff (Carlow, NB), 10. Heidi Cooper (Hanwell, NB), 11. Kevin Peterson (Fredericton, ), 12. Tyler Seveck (Nackawic, NB), 13. Andre Chamberlain (Fredericton, ), 14. chuck mercer, 15. Chuck Morton (Lincoln, NB), 16. Ryan Raynes, 17. Destiny Enkel (Saint John, NB),

Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter Division
1. Jeremy Doran (Fredericton, NB), 2. Ira Farnell (Lincoln, NB), 3. Courtney Barton (Minto, NB), 4. Neil Miousse (Fredericton, NB), 5. Darren Beatty (Lakeville Corner, NB), 6. Scott Goodine (Bear Island, NB), 7. Kyle Boudreau, 8. Malcolm Suley (Clarendon, NB), 9. Bryan Suttie (Keswick, NB), 10. Brody Levesque (Fredericton, ), 11. Kyle MacKinnon, 12. Curtis Collins, 13. Chris Savoie,

Westwood Estate Apartments Bandolero Division
1. Cory Hall (Jolicure, NB), 2. Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton, NB), 3. Mackenzie Brewer (Quispamsis, NB), 4. Cole Tanner (Shubenacadie, NS), 5. Levi Rossiter, 6. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 7. Kyle Orr (Saint John, NB), 8. Riley Goodwin, 9. Michael Cormier (Moncton, NB), 10. Hudson Weston (Saint John, NB),

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing