Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Halpin, Cole Score Hat Tricks on Opening Day at Speedway 660

Track Release

Steve Halpin and Justin Cole got off to a great start in the Riverview Ford Season opener at Speedway 660 on Saturday night. Both drivers won the Jensen Financial hat trick awards. Halpin won his heat, dash and feature in the Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock Division and Cole did the same thing in the DMR Auto Sales and Service Street Stock Division.

“What a way to start the season, there is no way I ever thought we would make three trips to victory lane on the season opener” said Steve Halpin. “I am really proud of this team, they worked hard to get this car ready for the season and tonight was our night, although Derek Christie and Kevin Moore really made it tough on us. Steve Halpin couldn’t have started his season any better than he did on the Riverview Ford Season Opener. Halpin won his Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock Heat race, the Dash and the Feature!

Christie finished second in the feature and Moore came home third. Moore also won the other heat race. While Justin Cole capped off his great night with a street stock feature victory, Robert Raynes finished second and Luc MacLaughlin was third. MacLaughlin also won the other heat race.

“I’m thrilled right now and am really excited to start the season the way we did with three checkered flags” said Justin Cole. “We worked hard on this car all winter long and that hard worked really paid off tonight, now the tough part will be to follow that up next Saturday and the weeks to come.”
Justin Cole and his crew were rewarded for all of the time they spent in the shop over the winter preparing for Speedway 660’s 2014 season. Cole won the DMR Auto Sales Service Street Stock Heat race, the Dash and Feature to cap off an incredible start to his year in the Geary Woods!

The Martins Home Heating Sportsman Division thrilled Speedway 660 fans during the Riverview Ford Season Opener. Brent Roy won the feature, while George Jamieson settled for second and Andrew Rodgers was third. Rodgers won a heat race and the dash, while Jamieson took the checkers in the other heat.

Jeremy Doran won the Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter feature. Malcolm Suley was second and Randy Campbell finished third. Ira Farnell and Campbell won the heat races.

The West Wood Estate Apartments Bandolero feature kept Speedway 660 fans of all ages on the edge of their seats. The youngest drivers put on a great show for the fans and it was Cory Hall who claimed the victory. Young Hall was able to hold off Cole Tanner for the win. MacKenzie Brewer was all smiles as he came home third for his first ever podium finish.

Next Saturday night Speedway 660 hosts another exciting night of point racing in all five divisions. In two weeks time, On Saturday, June 7th the Pro All Star Series rolls into the Geary Woods for one of the biggest races of the season.

Sharp Shooter Feature
Finish Car# Driver Hometown
1 8 Jeremy Doran Fredericton, NB
2 57 Malcolm Suley Clarendon, NB
3 52 Randy Campbell Quispamsis, NB
4 05 Brady Levesque Fredericton, NB
5 71 Neil Miousse Fredericton, NB
6 21 Kenny Barton Minto, NB
7 18 Darren Beatty Lakeville Corner, NB
8 51 Bryan Suttie Keswick, NB
9 81 Kyle Boudreau
10 13 Chris Hanley St. Stephen, NB
11 69J Jason Duffield
12 77 Ira Farnell Lincoln, NB

Street Stock – Feature
Finish Car No Driver Hometown
1 38 Justin Cole Harvey , NB
2 41 Robert Raynes Summerville, NB
3 11 Luc McLaughlin Geary, NB
4 44 Peter Martin Saint John, NB
5 8 Benji Ruff Carlow, NB
6 7 T.J. Madore Geary, NB
7 52 Destiny Enkel Saint John, NB
8 15 Roger Slocum Chipman, NB
9 1 Heidi Cooper Hanwell, NB
10 54 Rick Cashol Saint John, NB
11 2 chuck mercer ,
12 70 Tyler Seveck Nackawic, NB
13 46 Andre Chamberlain Fredericton,
14 94 Ryan Raynes ,
15 3 Keven Peterson Fredericton,
Sportsman – Feature
Finish Car No Driver Hometown
1 16JG Brent Roy Hanwell, NB
2 96 George Jamieson Fredericton, NB
3 14 Andrew Rodgers Smithtown, NB
4 27 Bill Sommerville Barnesville, NB
5 23 Drew Greenlaw Eastport, ME
6 42 Matt Rodgers Smithtown, NB
7 44S Steve Seveck Temperance Vale, NB
8 74 Alexandra O’Blenis Boundary Creek, NB
9 16 Jason Shannon Hoyt, NB
10 19 Dawson McIntee Moncton, NB
Pro Stock  – Feature
Finish Car No Driver Hometown
1 03 Steve Halpin Saint John, NB
2 9 Derek Christie Fredericton, NB
3 88 Kevin Moore Fredericton, NB
4 48 Dave O’Blenis Boundary Creek, NB
5 97 Chris Duncan Hampton, NB
6 12 Glyn Nott Burton, NB
7 16 Paul Gahan Lower St Mary’s, NB
8 00 Cole Boudreau Chipman, NB
9 69 Brian Gillespie Nackawic, NB
10 35 Brad Mann ,
11 28 John Rankin St.Martins, NB
12 46 Dana Hamm Fredericton, NB
13 24 Kevin Boyle Hampton, NB
Bandos – Feature
Finish Car No Driver Hometown
1 08 Cory Hall Jolicure, NB
2 33 Cole Tanner Shubenacadie, NS
3 55 Mackenzie Brewer Quispamsis, NB
4 5 Kyle Orr Saint John, NB
5 84 Levi Rossiter ,
6 43 Hudson Weston Saint John, NB
7 32 Ashton Tucker Lyttleton, NB
8 77 Riley Goodwin Lincoln
9 48 Courtney O’Blenis Boundary Creek, NB
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing