Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Petty Fan Choice Winners Announced, O’Blenis Motorsports Takes Four of Eight

The results are in for the inaugural Petty International Raceway Fan Choice Awards – and Boundary Creek, New Brunswick’s O’Blenis Motorsports took home hardware in four of eight of the categories, including a sweep by the youngster member of the team!

Courtney O’Blenis was the unanimous winner in both the Best Looking Car and Most Popular Driver polls in the Leisure Days/CRC RV Bandolero division. Leading since Day One of Round One, O’Blenis racked up 39% of the Best Looking Car vote in Round Two while she took home 32% in the Most Popular Driver Award. Drew Greenlaw finished runner-up in both categories, while Alicia Mowat (Most Popular Driver) and Cole Tanner (Best Looking Car) completed the podium in their respective Bandolero categories.

Caleb Dunn Memorial 200 winner Dave O’Blenis took home the Most Popular Driver in the GT Enterprises Sportsman division, capturing 25% of the over 1,400 votes cast. Phil Barkhouse Jr and Kenny MacKenzie Sr finished second and third in the vote.

While Barkhouse missed out on the Most Popular Driver Award, his #99 Phil-ko Plastics Chevrolet was good enough to capture the Best Looking Car Award in the GT Enterprises Sportsman by 58 votes over O’Blenis. Sarah McKay’s #23 car took third.

C Max Paint and Body Shop Supplies Street Stock Champion Alexandra O’Blenis would also pick up the Best Looking Car Award for her #14 Irving Blending and Packaging Monte Carlo. Kenny Mackenzie Jr finished 40 votes behind in second with Martin Landry coming home in third.

Meanwhile, the comeback of the competition was staged in the C Max Paint and Body Supplies Street Stock Most Popular Driver where Kenny Mackenzie Jr upstaged his girlfriend by taking the vote by 39. Going into the final day of Round Two voting, O’Blenis led Mackenzie by eight votes. Landry wound up in third.

Patricia Taylor had her fans out in force as she captured the Mister Transmission Mini Stock Most Popular Driver over Dustin Phillips and Brad Daley. Taylor won the Most Popular Driver Award by over 40 votes. While her showing was strong in the Most Popular Driver Award, it was Mike Weagle’s #60 car who topped the competition in the Best Looking Car vote over Taylor and Neal Crawford. Weagle’s margin of victory was 73 votes.

Voting was completed in two rounds on Fans narrowed the field of nominated drivers in each category to five in the first round of voting while the second round of voting decided the winners. Complete results of the final round vote follow. A complete rundown of all award winners at the Petty Raceway banquet is expected next week.


Most Popular Driver – 1,690 Votes Best Looking Car – 1,475 Votes
Name Votes Name Votes
1 Courtney O’Blenis 546 1 Courtney O’Blenis 572
2 Drew Greenlaw 358 2 Drew Greenlaw 358
3 Alicia Mowat 308 3 Cole Tanner 223
4 Cole Tanner 294 4 Mackenzie Brewer 163
5 Mackenzie Brewer 184 5 Braden Langille 159
Most Popular Driver – 964 Votes Best Looking Car – 928 Votes
Name Votes Name Votes
1 Patricia Taylor 290 1 Mike Weagle 295
2 Dustin Phillips 244 2 Patricia Taylor 222
3 Brad Daley 195 3 Neal Crawford 174
4 Deven Smith 129 4 Deven Smith 148
5 Chantel Ackles 106 5 Chantel Ackles 89
Most Popular Driver – 1,456 Best Looking Car – 1,438 Votes
Street Stock Street Stock
Name Votes Name Votes
1 Kenny Mackenzie Jr 479 1 Alex O’Blenis 473
2 Alex O’Blenis 440 2 Kenny Mackenzie Jr 433
3 Martin Landry 232 3 Martin Landry 216
4 Destiny Enkel 192 4 Gary Wade 180
5 Brad MacLean 113 5 Brad MacLean 136
Most Popular Driver – 1,415 Votes Best Looking Car – 1,427
Sportsman Sportsman
Name Votes Name Votes
1 Dave O’Blenis 359 1 Phil Barkhouse Jr 363
2 Phil Barkhouse Jr 311 2 Dave O’Blenis 305
3 Ken Mackenzie Sr 291 3 Sarah McKay 278
4 Brady Creamer 252 4 Ken Mackenzie Sr 262
5 Shawn Conners 202 5 Brady Creamer 219
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing