Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Final Fives Announced, #pettyfanchoice Round Two Open For Voting

After a brief caution period and trimming of the fields, the final round of the 2013 Petty International Raceway Fan Choice Awards are set to return to green with the final five drivers in each category ready to go at it!

Ballots for the Best Looking Car and Most Popular Driver have been trimmed to five in each of the four Petty divisions, the Leisure Days/CRC RV Bandoleros, Mister Transmission Mini Stocks, C Max Paint and Body Shop Street Stocks and the GT Enterprises Sportsman. Voting begins on December 27th and ends January 9th at Noon. The winners will be announced at the Petty International Raceway banquet on January 18th at the Petitcodiac Legion. You may vote ONCE per 24 hour period, per IP.

Vote for your favorite remaining drivers by clicking here.

While we are not going to release Round One results for the top five as it may sway voters one way or another in Round Two, we can tell you the closest battle in the #pettyfanchoice Awards came in the Mister Transmission Mini Stocks, where Neal Crawford lost out on a last day push by another driver to nip the #92 by one vote in the final tally. Mike Weagle also finished eight votes out of the top five in the Mini Stock Most Popular Driver, making it one of the closest bubble battles of the eight categories. Don’t fear though, Weagle and Crawford fans can still make a push as both drivers are in the Top Five for the Best Looking Car Award.

Of note, on that side of the coin, Dustin Phillips finished four votes from making the top five in the Best Looking Car Award, but is still in the running for the Most Popular Driver Award.

The most votes of any Round One category came in the Most Popular Driver for the GT Enterprises Sportsman, with 1,296 votes cast. Sarah McKay and champion Russell Smith Jr finished within 20 votes of the cutoff point in fifth and sixth, and each collected more than 100 votes in the two week period.

So, what are you waiting for?! Vote now!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing