Connect with us


MiRL: Duval Sweeps Week One at Lanier

NASCAR Pro Series driver Dylan Duval came to race in 2013-14!

Duval, from Halifax, NS took the checkered flag in not only the Maritime iRacing League (MiRL) Sportsman Series opener at Lanier National Speedway, but also took home the Rustick Auto and Towing 150, a part of the MiRL Super Series. Over the two nights of racing, the #42 Chevrolet would lead 234 of the 250 completed laps en route to sweeping the first week of racing in the 21 week season.

In the Rustick Auto and Towing 150, Duval rallied from a pit stop midway through the event and dueled with MiRL veteran Ronnie Mackay (Sydney, NS) to take the lead for the final time on the 94th circuit of the race. Mackay would hold on to second after a hungry Steve Matthews (Halifax, NS) looked like he was going to take the spot. After contact within the final few laps of the event, Matthews and then fourth place driver Stephan Arsenault (Fredericton, NB) were sent spinning, giving Kevin Savoury (D’Ecousse, NS) the third place spot at the finish.

The two former champions of the series, Ricky Arbeau (Lincoln, NB) and Keith Mac (Sydney, NS) completed the top five.

The race featured eight cautions and took 48 minutes to complete.


Duval led all but two laps in the MiRL Sportsman Rustick Auto and Towing 100 on Monday night but was challenged at the end by an aggressive Craig MacDonald (Waverley, NS). MacDonald had to settle for second in the exchange with Duval, while Shawn Waterfield (Sydney, NS) rebounded from an early spin to finish third on the night. Also transferring into the Rustick Auto and Towing 150 through the Sportsman race included Arsenault, Patrick Healey (Enfield) and Mackenzie Brewer (Quispamsis, NB).

The 100-lap feature saw ten cautions and took 38 minutes to complete.

The two companion series move onto sunny California and Irwindale Speedway for Round Two of the 2013-14 season. The racing, presented by Energy Hour Productions and the Energy Hour Radio Show on 95.7 The Wolf, will see the Sportsman division hit the 1/2-mile Tuesday for a 65-lap feature while the Super Series will go green on Wednesday for their 125-lap main event.

The Energy Hour Productions 125 can be seen live on ETV Live! (Channel 2) by clicking over to

For more information on the Maritime iRacing League, visit

RESULTS – Maritime iRacing League – Rustick Auto and Towing 150, Round One of 10, 2013 Winter Series

Pos No. Name Laps Sponsor Hometown
1 42 Dylan Duval 150 GX Gaming/Tim’s Corner Motorsports Halifax, NS
2 97 Ronnie Mackay 150 Action Car and Truck Accessories Sydney, NS
3 88 Kevin Savoury 150 Nova Construction/Pioneer Coal D’Ecousse, NS
4 61 Ricky Arbeau 150 Energy Hour Lincoln, NB
5 22 Keith Mac 150 Zigzag Sydney, NS
6 98 Steve Matthews 150 Breast Cancer Awareness Halifax, NS
7 52 Stephan Arsenault 150 GM Goodwrench Fredericton, NB
8 34 Mike Rhyno 150 Monster Energy/Alpinestars Halifax, NS
9 15 Mike Alexander 150 Draco Cole Harbour, NS
10 9 Craig MacDonald 150 Brycon Construction Racing Waverley, NS
11 24 Marc Williams 149 Barely Used Auto Parts Cocagne, NB
12 55 Tracy Foster 149 Speedway Miramichi Moncton, NB
13 00 Martin Landry 149 Roland’s On the Spot Welding Grand Barachois, NB
14 38 Travis Roma 148 Doug Forbes Century 21 Classic/DSL Tires West Chezzetcook, NS
15 75 Tim Terry 145 Tim’s Corner Motorsports/Ackles Racing Halifax, NS
16 48 Jake Goodwin 145 Redbull/DC Shoes Amherst, NS
17 23 Shawn Waterfield 138 Mi’kmaq Gas and Convenience Sydney, NS
18 5 Patrick Healey 128 Go Tire HRM/Racing for Chelsey Livingstone Enfield, NS
19 86 Jeff Gilmet 123 Gilmet Studios Halifax, NS
20 45 Mackenzie Brewer 118 A.E. McKay Builders/Lightning Wraps Quispamsis, NB
21 27 Carter Wilson 113 Parts for Trucks Halifax, NS
22 6 Nathan Doherty 36 Slim Jim NB
23 33 Doug Hubley 34 Oval Outlaw Racing Halifax, NS
24 11 Vic Greenwood 29 Unsponsored Cavendish, PE
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in iRacing