Connect with us

Oyster Bed Speedway

Results – Oyster Bed Speedway – Saturday August 24th.

Despite only a few points separating a few drivers in the Modified division at Oyster Bed Speedway, that storyline took a back seat to a few ‘Young Guns,’ grabbing checkered flags. In the opener, rookie driver Brandon Snow started on the front row beside Veteran Tim Gass. The two took the Green flag and began to battle each other for the lead. Snow was able to clear the veteran and wouldn’t look back as the entire race was run under a green flag securing his first heat win in the division.

In the semi, Jason MacCallum would also win his first race of the season.

In the feature another “Young Gun,” Dylan Lennentine was able to drive out into the early lead. In only his fourth season driving he was able to keep the entire field behind him in a race that was run completely without a caution. In that time Robbie MacEwen drove up into second but was unable to get by the sophomore driver. Lennentine scored his first career Feature win adding to his already two heat wins on the season.

In the points race in the division Randy Millar was able to hang onto the points lead adding with Kris Fournier trailing in second. Darrell Ford ran into some mechanical issues in the opening heat which set him back in the chase.

In the Street Stock Division Jamie Stewart was the big winner on the night. Stewart opened up with a second place heat finish and followed that up with a pair of wins including the feature. The feature race was hard fought between Stewart and his teammate Mark Maclean. The two raced hard beside each other for many laps until finally Stewart was too much for Maclean. Maclean settled for a second place finish behind Stewart for the second time that night.

The action in the Street Stock division didn’t end there. Following the race card it was learned that the top two cars in the division had put up a claim had been posted to give the each other’s engines a thorough post race inspection. The car driven by Stephen Gass was deemed to be legal while the car driven this year by Matt Boyle and Mike Duskey was deemed to have engine infractions. For the penalty the number two car lost the points from that night of racing and will also be handed a point penalty.

In the Outlaw division Jonathon Fitzpatrick was called in to drive for Tyler Maclean. He didn’t show any signs of rust as he grabbed the checkered flag in the opening two races in the division. The feature saw drivers competing for the final leg of their Super Series. James Doucette would easily drive home to the victory.

The Mini-Four Fun division was spread out with three different winners on the night’s card.  Keaton Vessey and Jillian Gregory captured the first two heats with Jason Baglole bringing home the trophy for the feature win.

BY: Jeremy MacDonald Track Announcer, Photo by Scott Sinclair

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Oyster Bed Speedway