Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Oyster Bed Speedway – Results, July 13th

Track Release by Jeremy MacDonald/Photo: Marlie Paynter

Finally hard work and effort from the Modified crew of driver Matt Palmer’s car were rewarded in a big way Saturday night at Oyster Bed Speedway. In the premier division at the speedway it usually takes a few years before drivers and teams are able to become competitive and challenge on a nightly basis for wins. Everything came together for Palmer and his crew as they enjoyed their most successful night of racing since moving to the division. He opened up his night with a heat win and followed up with a second place finish. When it came to the feature Palmer was once again up to the task as he pulled out into the lead and began to drive away from pack. Nobody was able to catch him as the 30 lap feature went off without a single caution and Palmer secured his first career feature win in the division.

The only driver to pass him on the night was Randy Millar as he grabbed his second win of the season.

Both Kris Fournier and Darrell Ford picked up a pair of top three finishes.  

It was a typical night of banging and crashing in the Street Stock division. Early in the night four black flags were given out all to drivers for racing hard. Included were defending champion and division leader Nick Chaisson, Stephen Gass, Mark Maclean and Zack Chappel.

Mike Duskey took advantage of a great starting position in all three races as he drove away from pack crossing the finish line first including the feature. However following the nights races Speedway Officials found some infractions in Duskey’s engine and had to disqualify him from the nights action. Rickey Myers looked as though he might be awarded the win until he too didn’t pass the post race inspection. In the end Emmett Donahue was awarded the feature but the big winner on the night turned out to be Alex Sheehan. The sophomore driver continues to show maturity in the veteran laden line-up. Sheehan was awarded a pair of heat wins and ended up third in the feature. Rookie Dave Weir was also able to grab his first checkered flag of the season.

In the Four Fun division Jeff Gallant continued his charge to reclaim the lead in points. After suffering some mechanical set-backs earlier in the year he had slid out of the lead and fell as far back as sixth place in the standings. Coming off a weekend of racing where he had a triple win Gallant was determined to do it again. It seemed as though the only driver standing in his way was Jason Baglole as two ran heard side by side for many laps in both heat races. Gallants car proved too fast though as he stormed his was to the two wins and grabbed the feature as well giving him six straight wins in a row. Newcomer Garrett Chappell scored a win on the night as did Adam Perry.  

The outlaw division had three separate winners in the highly contested division. James Doucette and Troy Burke had heat wins with division leader Jonathon Stewart grabbing the checkered flag.  

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing