Connect with us

Maritime Pro Stock Tour

IWK 250 Entry List Long and Strong

Track Release/Photo Credit: McCarthy Photographic

JAMES RIVER, NS (July 5, 2013) – The list of drivers registered to enter the IWK 250 Presented by Steve Lewis Auto Body at Riverside International Speedway on July 20 is long – and strong. The early bird registration deadline passed earlier this week with 32 of the strongest contenders ever pre-entered having thrown their helmets into the mix as possible 2013 champions of the prestigious event.

Top racers from the region will come out in full force to defend their home turf against 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Brad Keselowski, who will pit his undeniable talent against four Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour (PST) champions – John Flemming, Wayne Smith, Shawn Tucker, and Shawn Turple; a multitude of winners of the PST circuit – Donald Chisholm, Dylan Gosbee, Jonathan Hicken, George Koszkulics, Greg Proude, Mike MacKenzie, Darren MacKinnon, Craig Slaunwhite, Lonnie Sommerville, Mike Stevens, and Kent Vincent.

To make it really interesting add Austin Theriault in the mix. He is a teenage developmental driver for Brad Keselowski Racing who has been turning heads since his first race in the south-eastern U.S. after leaving his native Maine. Less than two years later Theriault is a threat to win wherever he races and has done so on more than one occasion this year. He is eager to see how he does in a race he’s heard a lot about.

“I can’t wait to get there,” said Theriault, a native of Fort Kent, Maine. “Growing up in Maine I heard a lot about it as one of the most prestigious races on the Northeastern seaboard. I’m really looking forward to seeing what we can do against a field I know will be full of strong competitors.”

Former IWK 250 winners hoping to repeat as the first two-time winner of the event include Flemming, Smith, Vincent, and MacKinnon.

And don’t count out the local young hotshoe’s – Dylan Blenkhorn, Cole Butcher, Colby Smith – all champions in other divisions, who along with Alberta’s Denver Foran are a formidable crop of rookies all hoping to make their presence known in the regions biggest and richest stock car race.


Expected Entry List – IWK 250

subject to change without notice

  1. Brad Keselowski, Mooresville, North Carolina
  2. Austin Theriault, Mooresville, North Carolina
  3. Greg Proude, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
  4. Donald Chisholm, Antigonish, Nova Scotia
  5. George Koszkulics, New Glasgow, Nova Scotia
  6. John Flemming, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  7. *Cole Butcher, Porters Lake, Nova Scotia
  8. Mike Stevens, Moncton, New Brunswick
  9. Daryl Mahar, Hubley, Nova Scotia
  10. Brad Eddy, Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia
  11. Craig Slaunwhite, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  12. *Dylan Blenkhorn, Truro, Nova Scotia
  13. Lonnie Sommerville, Barnesville, New Brunswick
  14. Darren MacKinnon, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
  15. *Denver Foran, Edmonton, Alberta
  16. Jonathan Hicken, Montague, Prince Edward Island
  17. Mike MacKenzie, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
  18. Steve Halpin, Saint John, New Brunswick
  19. Terry Dougay, Albany, Prince Edward Island
  20. *Colby Smith, Clarks Harbour, Nova Scotia
  21. Jerry Hayes, Sydney, Nova Scotia
  22. Leonard Boutilier, Dutch Settlement, Nova Scotia
  23. Shawn Turple, Enfield, Nova Scotia
  24. Dylan Gosbee, Cornwall, Prince Edward Island
  25. Jerome Kehoe, Sydney, Nova Scotia
  26. Robbie MacLean, North Milton, Prince Edward Island
  27. Brad Mann, Glen Levit, New Brunswick
  28. Jason Carnahan, Moncton, New Brunswick
  29. Shawn Tucker, Fredericton, New Brunswick
  30. Shawn Pierce, Bridgewater, Nova Scotia
  31. Kent Vincent, Crapaud, Prince Edward Island
  32. Wayne Smith, Halifax, Nova Scotia

* Rookie contender.

Besides the accolades that come with winning the IWK 250, drivers will vie for their share of the $90,000+ purse which guarantees a minimum $8,500 to the winner.

While early bird registration has concluded drivers can register to compete in the IWK 250 right up until race day on July 20.

Since 2007 the IWK 250 presented by Steve Lewis Auto Body has raised awareness and more than $130,000 for the IWK Children’s Health Care Centre.

The 2013 edition of the IWK 250 presented by Steve Lewis Auto Body is set for July 20 at Riverside International Speedway as the culmination of a two-day special event that will open July 19 with the Napa Sportsman Series and Maritime League of Legends.

Advance ticket and event information is available at

The IWK Health Centre Foundation helps sustain excellence in specialized care at the IWK for all Maritime families.  Last year our generous donors contributed over $10 million to the areas of greatest need at the IWK, including neonatal and pediatric intensive care, women’s health and mental health services for children and youth.  Funds raised also support world-renowned researchers and the purchase of modernized technology and equipment.  Together with its donors, the IWK Foundation supported more than 16,000 inpatient visits and nearly 300,000 outpatient and emergency room visits in one year.  Visit for more information.

Riverside International Speedway is a 1/3-mile high banked asphalt oval located in James River, between New Glasgow and Antigonish, at exit 30 off Trans Canada Highway 104. Opened in 1969, the facility was completely rebuilt in 2006 to become a premiere motorsports site comparable to the best short tracks in North America. For more information please visit or call 902.863.2410.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Pro Stock Tour