Connect with us

Speedway 660

McLaughlin Captures SpeedWeekend Street Stock Opener

Track Release/Photo by Rye Chapman

(September 1st, 2023) – Luc McLaughlin (#11) drove to an impressive and thrilling victory from the rear of the field in Friday night’s D. Gillespie & Sons Trucking Street Stock 100, as the large SpeedWeekend crowd cheered on the local Geary driver, who celebrated his big win with burnouts on the frontstretch.

Possibly the drive of his career, McLaughlin took the lead from Michael Cormier (#68) for the final time on lap 74 after a heated back and forth battle of the course of several laps. McLaughlin’s path to victory was a tough one, as he started nearly dead last on the field after blowing a tire in his heat race. Methodically, McLaughlin took his fast car through the field, and it would pay off with a monumental victory.

Cormier, who started on the pole and led the majority of the race, settled for second as Riley Goodwin (#77) rounded out the podium after making several charges at Cormier early in the race. Goodwin had to hold off a hard charging Mitchell Arsenault (#51), who hauled from PEI and had a stellar performance in fourth. Karl Schaefer (#00) rounded out the top five.

Cormier, Justin Cole (#38) and Bryar Ellis (#95) won heat races. Cole, who had won the previous two extended Street Stock races this year, was unable to complete the trifecta after heading pit side early. Ellis would blow a motor in spectacular fashion early in the race, spinning out and drawing a yellow flag.

Twenty-one (21) Shur-Fit Automotive, Bumper to Bumper Street Stocks were in attendance for the 100-lap kick-off to SpeedWeekend. This was Luc McLaughlin’s second SpeedWeekend Street Stock victory, second win of the season, and eight career Speedway 660 Street Stock victory.

Ryan Bernard (#68) became the first two-time winner of the Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter division in 2023, claiming the lead in the opening laps and holding off a hard charging Matt Martin (#33) for the win. Martin came from 15th on the starting grid, driving up to second and closing in on Bernard in lapped traffic, but just did not have enough to make a move. After post-race technical inspection, Daniel Atyeo (#15) would be awarded third place, with Alex Gallant (#5) and Darren Wilcox (#32) rounding out the top five.

It was a night that featured a bit of chaos for the Sharp Shooters. Points contender Randy Titus (#75) found himself on his roof on the frontstretch during his heat race after a tire came off the car in a dramatic incident. Then, a multi-car crash on lap two of the feature ended the race for several drivers.

Twenty-one (21) Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter competitors were in attendance for night one of SpeedWeekend. Bernard, Evan Gallon (#9) and Jason Duffield (#91) claimed ten-lap heat race victories.

Braxton Stafford (#91) earned his first career SpeedWeekend victory, besting Chris Wilson (#2W) on a late race restart to win the George Fitzpatrick Memorial Race. Wilson led the majority of the race, but after an extended red flag for fluid on the track, Stafford was able to capitalize on the outside to gain the lead over the final sprint. Wilson battled back, attempting to make a pass, but he would be unable to make it happen as he spun across the line in second. Jamie Weston (#81), making his first appearance of 2023, rounded out the podium ahead of Yves McCray (#58) and Kevin Bailey (#4).

Wilson and McCray took ten-lap heat race wins. Ten (10) Atlantic Modified Tour cars were in attendance for their first of two races on SpeedWeekend 2023. It was Stafford’s second career win at Speedway 660 on the Atlantic Modified Tour.

SpeedWeekend rolls on with day two Saturday, featuring the Riverview Ford Sportsman 150, the Maritime League of Legends CYV Chevrolet 40, the Pub’s Drive Thru Bottle Exchange Mini Stock 50, and part one of the Bandolero Blast. Action kicks off at 4pm Saturday September 2nd.

Excitement continues to roll into Sunday, with the 23rd Annual Pro Stock 250 taking center stage featuring NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series star Stewart Friesen (#52F). Nearly thirty Pro Stock competitors are expected to wage war for victory in the biggest and most prestigious event of the year, which pays $15,000 to win. A full slate of support class racing will be contested, with action firing up at 2pm on Sunday September 3rd.

Can’t make it to the track? Watch all weekend long LIVE on FloRacing with an active FloRacing subscription.


  1. Gillespie & Sons Trucking Street Stock 100 Results
  2. Luc McLaughlin #11
  3. Michael Cormier #68
  4. Riley Goodwin #77
  5. Mitchell Arsenault #51
  6. Karl Schaefer #00
  7. Martin Landry #15
  8. Rob Raynes #41
  9. Destiny Tucker #52
  10. Jonathon Hanley #16
  11. Jimmy Sommerville #5
  12. Evan Lane #46
  13. Shawn Hyslop #99
  14. Dan Gillespie #60
  15. Kyle MacKinnon #22
  16. Darcy O’Neill #68x
  17. Nick Cudmore #87
  18. Tom Nicholls #28
  19. Justin Cole #38
  20. Rick Cashol #54
  21. Bryar Ellis #95
  22. Bobby O’Brien #33

Heat Winners – Michael Cormier, Justin Cole, Bryar Ellis


Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter 30-Lap Feature Results

  1. Ryan Bernard #68
  2. Matt Martin #33
  3. Daniel Atyeo #15
  4. Alex Gallant #5
  5. Darren Wilcox #32
  6. Jason Duffield #91
  7. Todd Day #4
  8. Terry Lawson #14
  9. Randy Storey #92
  10. Curtis Tremblay #00
  11. Tyler Raeburn #28
  12. Brian Crossman #70
  13. Brian Maillet #83
  14. Curtis Berube #9c
  15. Wesley Harnish #61
  16. Austin Harnish #13
  17. Bradley Darrach #44
  18. John Richard #7
  19. Ben Woodcock #9b
  20. Randy Titus #75

DQ – Evan Gallon #9

Heat Winners – Jason Duffield, Ryan Bernard, Evan Gallon

Atlantic Modified Tour George Fitzpatrick Memorial Race Results

  1. Braxton Stafford #91
  2. Chris Wilson #2W
  3. Jamie Weston #81
  4. Yves McCray #58
  5. Kevin Bailey #4
  6. TJ Leighton #29
  7. Tristin Harris #7
  8. Joe Hoyt #17
  9. Doug Matchett #75
  10. Zean Dutcher #55

Heat Winners – Chris Wilson, Yves McCray

*Atlantic Modified Tour results are unofficial until published by series management

More in Speedway 660