Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Quick Results: Oyster Bed Speedway Opening Day

Stephen Gass was the big winner on Opening Day at Oyster Bed Speedway (PE) as he took the win in the always exciting Stella Maris Credit Union Street Stock division. Unofficial results showed youngsters Colton Ford and Alex Sheehan on the podium with Mark LeClair in fourth. Gerald MacQuarrie and LeClair took home the heat races while LeClair and Matt Boyle picked up semi wins.

Robbie MacEwen out dueled 2012 Modified champion Randy Millar to take his first win of the season in the Central Engine Services Modified feature. Darrell Ford, who won the semi, finished in third in the feature. Millar began the day by winning the heat.

Scotia Speedworld’s Richie Moore stormed to the front of the Chris’s Bobcat Four Fun feature after starting tenth and pulled away for the victory over Jason Baglole and Jeff Gallant. Moore debuted his tribute to his father Ronnie Moore on Monday, with Moore running a purple #53 for the 2013 season. The Speedworld’s Chevy MacDonald brought home the #172 in fourth. Scott Perry and Gallant won heats while Gallant shared semi victory lane with Moore.

James Doucette raced to a clean sweep in the Duffy’s Service Centre Outlaw division. Doucette, who is running a part time schedule in 2013, outran Matt Palmer and Jonathan Stewart in the feature. Palmer, who had an axle break in his Modified during opening practice on the afternoon, stepped into the #45, usually driven by Kendall Palmer.

Richard O’Brien took home the Demolition event to close off the day.

The afternoon featured a wild wreck in the Modified main event which saw Brandon Snow clip a lightpole and roll on his roof after contact with another car. Snow emerged from the car under his own power and was checked out at a local hospital. Reports say that Snow has a sprained neck and knee from the wreck.

The next race for Oyster Bed Speedway is June 1st at 6pm for the Mini Super Series 25 #1 plus a full card of racing.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing