Connect with us

Speedway 660


Rick Cashol races to first feature victory in six years

(FREDERICTON, NB – July 13th, 2020) – It was ten months between RE/MAX East Coast Elite Realty Pro Stock races at Speedway 660 but the result was the same. Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton, NB), driving for Brad Silliker Motorsports, raced to the win Sunday afternoon in the Riverview Ford Lincoln Pro Stock 100. The race was the first since SpeedWeekend 2019 when Tucker drove the No. 2 car to the win in the McLaughlin Roof Trusses 250 last September.

Tucker took advantage of a competition yellow and would advance to the lead following the first caution period of the race on Lap 40. Cory Hall (Jolicure, NB), who led the field to green and paced the field for a majority of the first half of the race, finished a strong second with Steve Halpin (Saint John, NB) completing the podium finishers. Nicholas Naugle (Dartmouth, NS), who ran in the top three for most of the event, got shuffled back to fourth late in the race. Reigning track champion Brent Roy (Hanwell, NB) was fifth at the finish of the Riverview Ford Lincoln Season Opener.

Hall and Jonathan Hicken (Brudenell, PE) took home Pro Stock heat race victories.

The big story from the afternoon may have been written in the DMR Auto Street Stock division, where Rick Cashol (Saint John, NB) scored a popular victory in the 35-lap feature. Cashol, who has now won a feature event in the Province of New Brunswick in each of the last six decades, edged out reigning track titlist Chris Hanley (St. Stephen, NB) and Justin Cole (Harvey, NB) in a three wide finish at the line. Riley Goodwin (McAdam, NB) and Shawn Hyslop (St. Stephen, NB) rallied back from the rear of the field early in the race to finish fourth and fifth, respectively.

Cashol and Goodwin raced to heat wins in the DMR Auto Street Stock division.

Brady Creamer (Miramichi, NB) continued his winning ways by taking home the Late Model Sportsman feature in dramatic fashion. Creamer dug deep in the final laps, passing Luc McLaughlin (Geary, NB) in the closing laps for the victory. The win is Creamer’s third in his last five starts dating back to the end of 2019. McLaughlin held on for second place with Matt Rodgers (Smithtown, NB) in third. Richard Atkinson (Haneytown, NB) and Clark Moore (Saint John, NB), who paced the field early in his Lonnie Sommerville Racing entry, completed the top five in the 40-lap feature. Moore was the heat race winner.

BJ Gillespie (Harvey, NB) recovered from a missed shift on a mid-race restart to win the 25-lap Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooters feature. Gillespie had his hands full as he had to hold off Malcolm Suley (Clarendon, NB) and Randy Titus (French Lake, NB) for his first victory of 2020. Freshman driver Daniel Atyeo (Chipman, NB) and Randy Storey (Royal Road, NB) placed fourth and fifth, respectively, in the opening feature on the afternoon. Gillespie and Maggie Suttie (Keswick, NB) were the winners in the heat races.

The next racing event at Speedway 660 is scheduled for Saturday, July 25th when the Late Model Sportsman take the spotlight for the Fog City Auto Spa 125.

For more information about events at Speedway 660, visit, like @Speedway660 on Facebook or call the Speedway 660 Raceline at (506) 454-7223.

About Speedway 660:
Speedway 660 is one of Canada’s premier stock car racing facilities. Located in New Brunswick’s Fredericton region, it attracts race teams and fans from the Maritimes, New England and Quebec. The Speedway 660 racing season runs from mid May until Labour Day Weekend. SpeedWeekend, one of the most prestigious short track events in eastern North America, wraps up Speedway 660’s racing season.


Riverview Ford Lincoln 100 – RE/MAX East Coast Elite Realty Pro Stocks

1st – #2 Ashton Tucker
2nd – #83 Cory Hall
3rd – #03 Steve Halpin
4th – #08 Nicholas Naugle
5th – #26 Brent Roy
6th – #1 Ryan Messer
7th – #97 Chris Duncan
8th – #81 Ian Rasmussen
9th – #24 Ben Pelletier
10th – #88 Kevin Moore
11th – #5 Jonathan Hicken

Heat Winners: Cory Hall and Jonathan Hicken

Late Model Sportsman 40

1st – #10 Brady Creamer
2nd – #11 Luc McLaughlin
3rd – #14 Matt Rodgers
4th – #40 Richard Atkinson
5th – #54 Clark Moore
6th – #94 Ryan Raynes
7th – #52 Destiny Enkel
8th – #41 Robert Raynes

Heat Winner: Clark Moore

DMR Auto Street Stock 35

1st – #54 Rick Cashol
2nd – #71 Chris Hanley
3rd – #38 Justin Cole
4th – #77 Riley Goodwin
5th – #99 Shawn Hyslop
6th – #53S Bill Storey
7th – #2 Chuck Mercer
8th – #68x Darcy O’Neill
9th – #15 Roger Slocum
10th – #25 Christian Savoie
11th – #7 Tristin Harris
12th – #68 Michael Cormier
13th – #09 Nick Cadger
14th – #11 Caleb Urquhart
DNS – #55 James Matchett

Heat Winners: Rick Cashol and Riley Goodwin

Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooters 25

1st – #69 BJ Gillespie
2nd – #57 Malcolm Suley
3rd – #75 Randy Titus
4th – #15 Daniel Atyeo
5th – #92 Randy Storey
6th – #32 Darren Wilcox
7th – #01 Jeff Rose
8th – #41 Maggie Suttie
9th – #71 Brandon Young
10th – #83 Stephanie Robichaud
11th – #8 Mike Brown
12th – #98 Jennifer Harnish
13th – #33 Matt Martin
14th – #70 Mitchell Harvey
15th – #61 Wesley Harnish

Heat Winners: BJ Gillespie and Maggie Suttie

More in Speedway 660