Connect with us

Sydney Speedway


(SYDNEY, NS – October 13th, 2019) – Laurie Cormier (Riverview, NB) was declared the winner of the inaugural Thanksgiving Thunder Robby’s Tractor Trailer Services Late Model 100 Sunday afternoon at Sydney Speedway. Cormier, who also qualified for the “Big Weekend Bonus” in the event, drove the No. 53 MetalCore Toyota to the win ahead of a field of 12 Late Model Sportsman to finish his 2019 season in victory lane.

Cormier ran second most of the event to Brady Creamer (Miramichi, NB), but the No. 10 car did not pass post race technical inspection, giving the win to Cormier. Lynden MacDougall (Sydney, NS) was second, followed by Ryan VanOirschot (Antigonish, NS), Jeffrey Breen (Antigonish, NS) and Darren Price (Main-A-Dieu, NS) in the top five.

Creamer and Price won heat races to qualify for the Robby’s Tractor Trailer Services 100. The feature event saw seven caution periods and took 50 minutes to complete.

Tylor Hawes (Porter’s Lake, NS) became the fifth different Colbourne Auto Group Legend winner in as many races by taking home the 35-lap finale on Sunday afternoon. Hawes drove from the back of the field with 15 laps to go to ultimately take the lead from Kody Quinn (Sydney, NS), who suffered an axel  issue in his car in the late laps. Dylan Dowe (Bedford, NS) raced his way to second with Devin Wadden (Hammonds Plains, NS) capping off his rookie season with a third place run in Sydney.

Quinn was the winner of the 30-lap PPM Incorporated Street Stock feature on Sunday. Quinn, who was driving for Brennan MacInnis, inherited the lead when Colton Beaver (Sydney, NS) and James Matchett (Miramichi, NB) made contact while racing for the lead. Matchett would race back to second with Beaver third at the finish. John Halliday (Sydney, NS) completed his run in a Street Stock car with a fourth place finish on Sunday.

Quinn also swept both Mini Stock features during the Thanksgiving Thunder event. Quinn won the first 30-lap feature over Josh Benac (Sydney, NS) and Brian Axworthy (Sydney Mines, NS). Alex Landry (Antigonish, NS) raced to his first podium finish in the second 30-lap feature with a second place run to Quinn. Benac finished third in the second feature for his second podium finish of afternoon.

Dylan Dowe took home his fourth Steve Lewis Auto Body Bandolero feature of the season. Dowe dominated the event and took home the checkered flag ahead of a spirited battle between Brooke Dowe (Bedford, NS), Emily Chisholm (Antigonish, NS) and Ayden Christensen (Windsor Junction, NS).

Glen Cooke won his second straight Bomber feature with a win on Thanksgiving Thunder weekend. Cooke held off a hard charging Brian Northrup for the checkered flag in the 35-lap feature. Zack Langille finished a close third place finish.

The Thanksgiving Thunder event was combined into a one day racing show after heavy rains postponed Saturday’s racing action. Complete results will be posted at a later date on the Sydney Speedway Facebook page at @SydneySpeedCA.

Sydney Speedway management would like to thank all the drivers, teams, volunteers, marketing partners and fans who made the 2019 season a success. Please stay tuned to our social media channels for all upcoming information on the 2020 season.

About Sydney Speedway:
Opened in 1975, Sydney Speedway has built a racing tradition on Cape Breton Island over the past four decades. Purchased in 2019 by local businessman and racing enthusiast Greg Dowe, the track is home to a number of stock car racing divisions, a destination for local touring series and motorsports events. For more information on Sydney Speedway, find them online at and on various social media platforms at @SydneySpeedCA.


More in Sydney Speedway