Connect with us

Scotia Speedworld

24th Annual Shriners Classic on Tap for Friday Night at Scotia Speedworld

Track Release/Photo by McCarthy Photographic

(Halifax, NS – June 27, 2018) The 24th edition of the Shriner’s Classic for the Affordable Fuels & Metro Home Heating Sportsman is set for Friday night at Scotia Speedworld. In addition to the 50 lap Sportsman feature fans will also see racing action from the Hydraulics Plus Bandoleros, Toursec Thunder and Strictly Hydraulics Legends. Racing action will get underway at 7:00 PM.

With car counts pushing 20 Affordable Fuels Sportsman on a weekly basis, the 24th Annual Shriners Classic will not only see extra laps on the board on Friday night but will see the biggest field of Sportsman cars in Atlantic Canada compete on one track so far in 2018. Drivers the likes of last weekend’s Nova Truck Centres 150 winner Dylan Blenkhorn (Truro), two-time Shriners Classic champion Russell Smith Jr (Lakeside), Phil Barkhouse Jr (Hammonds Plains) and Jeffrey Breen (Antigonish) have been known to compete in special event races at Scotia Speedworld and fans can look out for them when the green flag flies on Friday. The return of reigning Shriners Classic Champion Travis Roma (West Chezzetcook) is also expected on Friday evening.

Following his win during AMP Energy Night, Jordan Veinotte (Porters Lake) will enter the Shriners Classic with the point lead. It is a race that Veinotte wants to win more than any other at his home track. “We want our name on that trophy badly,” said Veinotte after his victory last Friday. “There are so many big names that have won this race. We want this win more than any other on the schedule this season; it is that prestigious of a race.”

Aaron Boutilier (Porters Lake), reigning division champion Matt Vaughan (Bedford), “Mr. Excitement” Kirk Ryan (Upper Nine Mile River) and Alex Johnson (Enfield) set the pace behind Veinotte in the standings.

Of the 18 drivers who have competed this season at Scotia Speedworld in the Affordable Fuels Sportsman division, only one has won the Shriners Classic in his career. Darren Wallage (Oakfield) won the 2013 running of the event.

Reigning Toursec 50 Champion Richard Drake will join Tim Terry as co-host for the 24th Annual Shriners Classic. Drake is a fan favorite within the CARSTAR Weekly Racing Series.


Shriner’s Classic Past Winners
1995 – Gordie Ryan (#65)
1996 – Troy Slaunwhite (#80)
1997 – Terry Roma (#38)
1998 – Ron Tibert (#64)
1999 – Mel Tibert (#01)
2000 – Harry Ross White (#18)
2001 – Tony Leonard (#74)
2002 – James Graves (#27)
2003 – Craig Slaunwhite (#99)
2004 – Terry Roma (#38)
2005 – Terry Roma (#38)
2006 – Sheldon Pemberton (#62)
2007 – Craig Slaunwhite (#99)
2008 – Harry Ross White (#18)
2009 – Jeff Dillman (#08)
2010 – Colby Smith (#77)
2011 – Jeff Dillman (#08)
2012 –Jeff Dillman (#0)
2013 – Darren Wallage (#3)
2014 – Jeff Dillman (#0)
2015 – Russell Smith Jr (#44)
2016 – Russell Smith Jr (#44)
2017 – Travis Roma (#38)


Admission for the Shriner’s Classic is just $15.00 for Adults; Youth (8-15) are $5.00 and children 7 and under are free…all summer long! Tickets are available at the gate on race day (cash only).

About Scotia Speedworld:

Scotia Speedworld (SSW) is a 3/10-mile asphalt oval racing facility. SSW is the only track in Nova Scotia to host a weekly racing series, which runs May through September and features six different classes of racecars. SSW also hosts special events, including Monster Jam, Nitro Circus and the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour. SSW is located at Exit 6 on Highway 102, across from the Halifax Stanfield International Airport. For more information please click on or call our Event Hotline at (902) 873-2277 or our office at (902) 481-2514. Like us on Facebook at  and follow us on Twitter

More in Scotia Speedworld