Connect with us

Oyster Bed Speedway

Discover Kia Maritime Street Stock Showdown Set to Go Saturday at Oyster Bed

Event Release/Photo by Courtney Eisan

The Maritimes largest and richest street stock race is set to go this Saturday. The Discover KIA Maritime street stock showdown is being held at Oyster Bed Speedway, PEI and starts at 5pm. The total purse in payouts and additional incentives is $11,000. The winner of the second running of the event will receive $1500.

Pre –registration sees a field of 29 cars for the event. Additional cars may show up to race on race day and the field of 29 could grow. Also on the race card for the evening are the bandeleros, mini stock and outlaw classes.

Event Organizer Tom Nicholls noted, “I am thrilled with the response form the drivers and it will be a marquee event in the Maritime stock car racing scene. Equally I am grateful for the all the sponsors and lap sponsors of the event that have come forward to make the event possible again this year”.

Time trials will set the field for the top 4 cars in the 100 lap feature race.  Time trials begin at 5pm.  Heat races will fill the field.

The event will see all kids under 15 years of age get in free. Regular adult admission prices will be in effect for the race at $15 per adult. The Speedway’s portion of the 50-50 proceeds will be donated to the Children’s ward at the QEH.

Kids fun stuff starts at 3:30 pm which includes things like face painting, tattoos, balloons and other items. Kids rides will also occur prior to the nights racing action. There will be an on track autograph session with the drivers during driver introductions for the fans.

Discover KIA will have its award winning lineup of new vehicles on display during the event featuring the new hot looking KIA Stinger.

Friday night there will be a practice session for the Street stock cars from 6-9 pm. For further information visit the event website  and the Oyster Bed Speedway website


  1. 81 JR Lawson – NS
  2. 1 James Matchett – NB
  3. 7 Brandon Snow – PEI
  4. 68 Michael Cormier – NB
  5. 33 Deryk Murphy – NB
  6. 42 Mike Duskey – PEI
  7. 47 Shawn Furlong – NB
  8. 39 Dan Smith – NS
  9. 4 Andrew Thompson – PEI
  10. 80 Vernon Brown – NS
  11. 71 Chris Hanley – NB
  12. 19 Brandon Carter -NB
  13. 63 BPMS – Driver TBA – PEI
  14. 63x Tyson Donovan – NB
  15. 26 Randy Snow – PEI
  16. 66 Brodie MacQuarrie – PEI
  17. 31 Kevin Albert – PEI
  18. 21 Patrick Horne -NS
  19. 42x John Halladay – NS
  20. 3 Jamie Stewart – PEI
  21. 00x Matt Crocker – NB
  22. 20 Glenn Hynes – PEI
  23. 60 Eric Matthews – NB
  24. 44 Zach Chappell – PEI
  25. 11 Luc McLaughlin – NB
  26. 29 Jeff Macinnis – PEI
  27. 24 Gordon Stewart – PEI
  28. 37 Brandon Albert -PEI
  29. 00 Adam Stewart – PEI

More in Oyster Bed Speedway