Connect with us

TCM Stock Car Shootout

New Venue, New Champions – Racing With Autism Wins TCM Icebreaker Enduro

Photos by Mike Francis/Racin Photos

Racing with Autism parlayed their strategy and speed into a victory in the Tim’s Corner Motorsports (TCM) Icebreaker Endurance Race presented by St. Louis Bar & Grill – Moncton & Dieppe at East Coast Karting on Saturday.

Austin Riley, Shane Riley and Stephen Oliver crossed the line after two hours and 203 laps just 22.5 seconds ahead of “Just for Fun.” The team put in the third longest stint to the end of the race making their final of three required pit stops at Lap 112. They took the lead for good with just under 30 minutes to go in the race.

The Racing with Autism team just completed a cross Canada school tour with the TCM Icebreaker Endurance Race being the final stop. The team hails from North York, Ontario while Oliver is a local of Moncton. All three Maritime Provinces were represented in the field on Saturday.

The previous two TCM Endurance Races had been held at Kartbahn Racing in Halifax, both won by Cory Hall Racing and Lively Motorsports. With Cory Hall and Andrew Lively both having prior commitments, the team was left to Craig MacDonald, Brandon Crawford and 2017-18 TCM Stock Car Shootout champion Kyle Gammon to defend their crown but wound up one spot short of the podium in fourth.

The Just for Fun team, led by Steve King, was ultimately penalized post race due to a pit stop that was three seconds quick than the required time. The move promoted “The Bus Drivers” (Kelsey Hann, Callum Baxter, Ben Israel, Owen Mahar, Danny Chisholm) to second place with Team Redline (Alex Davison, James Montgomery, Aaron Kennedy) moving to the final spot of the podium.

The field was completed by Cory Hall Racing, Team PEI, 91 Pro Stock, Down Easterners, Just For Fun, Sarah McKay Racing and Sharp Shooters.

Of note, Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour competitor Dylan Gosbee posted the longest stint of any driver in the race. Gosbee made his swap into the seat on Lap 90 and drove 109 laps to the finish of the race. The fastest lap of the race was turned by Team Redline with a 29.995 second lap in their first stint.

After a threat of showers all day, the race was run in the dry for the two hour duration though spits of rain threatened during the one hour mark. The odd dip of a wheel kicked up a spray of mud after rains the night before.

Sarah McKay sports some mud after dipping a wheel near the halfway point of the TCM Icebreaker Enduro presented by St. Louis Bar & Grill – Moncton & Dieppe (Mike Francis/Racin Photos)

Thanks to St Louis Bar & Grill – Moncton & Dieppe, East Coast Karting, Racin Photos, Finish Line Vinyl Design and Phil-Ko Plastics and Glass for their support of the race and the 10 teams that competed in the event. Watch the Tim’s Corner Motorsports Facebook Page throughout the week for more post race from the TCM Icebreaker Endurance Race presented by St. Louis Bar & Grill, including a photo gallery from Mike Francis.

Results – TCM Icebreaker Endurance Race presented by St Louis Bar and Grill

East Coast Karting – April 28th, 2018

1st – #22 – Racing With Autism – 203 Laps
2nd – #20 – The Bus Drivers – 201 Laps
3rd – #23 – Redline – 200 Laps
4th – #17 – Cory Hall Racing/Lively Motorsports – 200 Laps (10 seconds behind Redline)
5th – #25 – Team PEI – 199 Laps
6th – #14 – #91 Pro Stock – 198 Laps
7th – #3 – Down Easterners – 196 Laps
8th – #21 – Just For Fun – 203 Laps (5 Minute Penalty for 5:34.9 pit stop)
9th – #24 – Sarah McKay Racing – 187 Laps
10th – #18 – Sharp Shooters – 182 Laps

TCM Karting Endurance Event Champions List:

TCM Spring Enduro
2018 – Racing With Autism (Austin Riley, Shane Riley, Stephen Oliver) (East Coast Karting – TCM Icebreaker Presented by St. Louis Bar & Grill)
2017 – Cory Hall Racing/Lively Motorsports (Cory Hall, Andrew Lively, Craig MacDonald, Brandon Crawford, Kyle Gammon) (Kartbahn Racing – TCM 250)

TCM Fall Endurance Race
2017 – Cory Hall Racing/Lively Motorsports (Cory Hall, Andrew Lively, Craig MacDonald, Brandon Crawford, Kyle Gammon) (Kartbahn Racing – TCM Fall 250)

More in TCM Stock Car Shootout