Connect with us

TCM Stock Car Shootout

MacDonald Opens Stock Car Shootout Season With Victory

Sometimes you’re lucky, sometimes you’re good and sometimes it is a mix of both.

Craig MacDonald, a 2017 winner on the Maritime League of Legends Tour, held off a hard charging Danny Chisholm to win the first TCM Stock Car Shootout of the season at Kartbahn Racing. The win is his third in six TCM Stock Car Shootout events dating back to 2016-17.

MacDonald posted the seventh quickest time of the 22 entries during qualifying but the invert was rolled as a seven, giving MacDonald the pole for the 14-lap feature. Chisholm joined him on the front row and while they sprinted out to the early lead, they were quickly joined up front by Kyle Gammon, who started fifth.

The three put on a spirited show for the lead with the turning point coming with two laps to go when Chisholm was able to overtake Gammon for the runner-up spot. Chisholm, who turned a 17.995 second lap in the feature, could not run down MacDonald in time which gave MacDonald the win.

Andrew Warren, who set fast time in qualifying at a 17.745 second lap, finished fifth in the A Main behind his brother Matthew. Cory Hall, Kody Quinn, Shane Lively, Andrew Lively, Chris Roma and Dylan Langille completed the 11 kart field.

Andrew Lively won the B Feature by over two seconds over Chris Roma after Langille and Wade Rushton tangled for second in the waning laps. Langille, who had Lively on his front bumper for most of the B Main, finished third and was awarded a promoter’s provisional based on performance and his attendance in 2016-17. It was Langille’s first A Main start with the TCM Stock Car Shootout field.

Kelsey Hann took home the C Feature from the pole. The multiple time karting champion was 16th in qualifying with second to 19th place being separated by just six tenths. Hann would finish sixth in the B Main after gapping second place finisher Brad Brown in the C Feature by over seven seconds in 14 laps.

The second of five TCM Stock Car Shootout events at Kartbahn Racing for the 2017-18 season will take place on Tuesday, January 2nd. The balance of the schedule will tentatively see events on January 30th and February 27th with the season finale on March 27th.

Feature Results

A Main – 14 Laps

Position Name
1 Craig MacDonald
2 Danny Chisholm
3 Kyle Gammon
4 Matthew Warren
5 Andrew Warren
6 Cory Hall
7 Kody Quinn
8 Shane Lively
9 Andrew Lively
10 Chris Roma
11 Dylan Langille

Fastest Lap in Race – Danny Chisholm – 17.995

B Main – 14 Laps

Position Name
1 Andrew Lively
2 Chris Roma
3 Dylan Langille
4 Kyle Shipley
5 Cory Leonard
6 Kelsey Hann
7 Craig McFetridge
8 Wade Rushton

Fastest Lap in Race – Wade Rushton – 18.351 seconds

C Main – 14 Laps

Position Name
1 Kelsey Hann
2 Brad Brown
3 Darren Flemming
4 Nic Baker
5 James Sample
6 Brad Hayes
7 Travis Roma

Fastest Lap in Race – Kelsey Hann – 18.341 seconds.


Fastest Lap of the Night – Andrew Warren; 17.745 seconds

Top Eight in Qualifying:
1st – Andrew Warren; 17.745 seconds
2nd – Cory Hall; 18.252
3rd – Kyle Gammon; 18.305
4th – Kody Quinn; 18.331
5th – Matthew Warren; 18.363
6th – Danny Chisholm; 18.376
7th – Craig MacDonald; 18.389
8th – Shane Lively; 18.476

More in TCM Stock Car Shootout