Connect with us

Speedway 660

Track Champions Crowned at Speedway 660

Track Release

(Aug. 20, 2017) The 2017 Day of Champions provided fans with plenty of excitement on Sunday afternoon at Speedway 660. Brent Roy won his first RE/MAX Group Four Realty Pro Stock championship while John Rankin claimed his second Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman title. Luc McLaughlin, won the DMR Auto Sales Street Stock championship for the second time while Kyle Boudreau drove home with his second Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter championship.


The most dramatic race of the day was the Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman feature. Heading into the 40 lap race John Rankin had a slim one point lead over Drew Greenlaw. Late in the race as the two drivers battled for both the win and the championship, they made contact and spun-out. Both had to restart at the rear of the field and Rankin prevailed to win his first championship since 2009.

“Drew and I are friends, we pit beside each other and I feel really bad about the way this thing played out, we both were racing hard with a lot of the line and spun out” said John Rankin. “It sure is nice to win a championship though because it’s been awhile since we got the last one and I want to thank Bob, from Pubs Drive Through Bottle Exchange, Irving Blending and Packaging, Lonnie Sommerville Racing and everybody else who helped us this year.”

Courtney O’Blenis won her very first Sportsman feature on Sunday by winning the race to the stripe just ahead of her sister Alexandra. Andrew Rodgers was third in the Sportsman feature while Courtney O’Blenis and Rankin won the heat races. Curtis Collins won the Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman Rookie of the Year Award.

Ashton Tucker, who finished second in the points, won the Pro Stock feature on Sunday afternoon. It was Tucker’s second feature victory of the season as he outraced Greg Fahey and Dustin Tucker who finished second and third.  Brent Roy and Ashton Tucker won the Pro Stock heat races. Ryan Messer won the RE/MAX Group Four Realty Pro Stock Rookie of the Year Award.

“Winning the RE/MAX Group Four Realty Pro Stock championship in our second year in this division is huge and a real team effort and I want to thank everyone who helped make this possible” said Brent Roy. “We looked at the big picture this season, focussing on the points and we earned this championship by being consistent every week.”

Matt Crocker won the DMR Auto Sales Street Stock feature on the Day of Champions ahead of Shawn Hyslop and Riley Goodwin. Crocker and Chuck Mercer won the Street Stock heat races, while Luc McLaughlin’s seventh place finish in the feature was good enough to earn his the championship.

“It wasn’t easy today, we ended up in the beach twice and our pit crew did an amazing job to change a flat tire under caution and get me back on the track to finish high enough to get the championship:” said McLaughlin. “I want to thank Chris, from C.B. Warren’s Auto Care, for giving me the opportunity to drive his car this season and I’m thrilled to win my second Street Stock title.”

Matt Martin outran the competition to win his first Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter feature. Tyler Crocker and Kyle Boudreau finished second and third, while Kyle MacKinnon took the Sharp Shooter heat race. Scott Kennie won the Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter Rookie of the Year Award.

“This is pretty amazing, we had a great season and to win our second championship is awesome” said Boudreau. “I really appreciate the support of my family and friends, pit crew, sponsors and Speedway 660’s fans who come watch us race every week.

Speedway 660’s next event is SpeedWeekend which runs from Friday, September 1st until Sunday, September 3rd. The infield party, corn-boil and concert with Mucky Fingers kicks things off on SpeedWeekend Friday, followed by the Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman 150 on Saturday and the McLaughlin Roof Trusses Pro Stock 250 on Sunday.

Day of Champions Feature Results – Aug. 20th Speedway 660

RE/MAX Group Four Realty Pro Stocks

  1. Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton, NB), 2. Greg Fahey (St. Stephen, NB), 3. Dustin Tucker (Fredericton, NB), 4. Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 5. Derek Christie (Fredericton, NB), 6. Kevin Moore (Fredericton, NB), 7. Ian Rasmussen, 8. Brent Roy (Hanwell, NB), 9. Ryan Messer (Harvey, NB), 10. Braxton Stafford, 11. Ben Pelletier (Upperton, NB), 12. Shawn Warren (Waasis, NB), 13. Robert Tomlinson (Arthurette, NB).

Martin’s Home Heating Sportsman

  1. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 2. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 3. Andrew Rodgers (Smithtown, NB), 4. Curtis Collins, 5. Jacob Logan (Harvey, NB), 6. Richard Atkinson (Haneytown, NB), 7. Ryan Raynes, 8. Robert Raynes (Summerville, NB), 9. John Rankin (St.Martins, NB), 10. Kyle Campbell (Salisbury, NB), 11. Clark Moore, 12. Drew Greenlaw (Eastport, ME), 13. Kyle Orr (Saint John, NB), 14. George Jamieson (Fredericton, NB), 15. Hudson Weston (Saint John, NB).


DMR Auto Street Stocks

  1. Matt Crocker (Fredericton, NB), 2. Shawn Hyslop, 3. Riley Goodwin DQ, 4. Roger Slocum (Chipman, NB), 5. Chris Hanley (St. Stephen, NB), 6. Chuck Mercer, 7. Luc McLaughlin (Geary, NB), 8. Rick Cashol (Saint John, NB), 9. Courtney Barton (Minto, NB), 10. Benji Ruff (Carlow, NB), 11. Micheal Cormier, 12. Destiny Enkel (Saint John, NB), 13. Luke Dukeshire, 14. Noah Gillespie, 15. Justin Munn.


Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooters

  1. Matt Martin, 2. Tyler Crocker, 3. Kyle Boudreau, 4. Allison Hall, 5. Scott Kennie, 6. BJ Gillespie, 7. Bryan Suttie (Keswick, NB), 8. Kyle MacKinnon,

More in Speedway 660