Connect with us

Maritime Pro Stock Tour

Blenkhorn Becomes First Time IWK 250 Champion

Series Release/Photo by McCarthy Photographic

(Antigonish, NS- July 16, 2017) – Dylan Blenkhorn (Truro, NS) made a life-long dream a reality by winning the John W. Chisholm Memorial Cup at the IWK 250 at Riverside International Speedway this evening. The stacked field included drivers from six provinces and three states. Cole Butcher (Porter’s Lake, NS) battled Blenkhorn all the way to the checkers but came up just short. Craig Slaunwhite (Terence Bay, NS) plowed through the field during the second half of the event and finished in the final spot on the podium. Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS) and Dylan Gosbee (Cornwall, PE) completed the top five.

Competition got underway with five Atlantic Tiltload Heat Races for the 38 competitors vying to make the 30 car field. Heat races were won by Jason Hathaway (Uxbridge, ON), Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS), Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), Kyle Reid (Fort MacMurray, AB) and George Koszkulics (New Glasgow, NS). Jarrett Butcher (Porter’s Lake, NS) won the Atlantic Tiltload B Feature.

Twenty cars qualified for the prestigious event via heat races. Cars who did not qualify through their heat then competed in a 25 lap last chance race with the top two securing their positions on the starting grid. The remaining eight positions were determined by provisionals as set in the event procedures. Receiving a provisional to make the elite starting field were Kent Vincent (Crapaud, PE), Darren MacKinnon (Charlottetown, PE), Nicholas Naugle (Dartmouth, NS), Stephen Lively (Shubenacadie, NS), Greg Fahey (St. Stephen, NB), Gary Elliott (Dundas, ON), Josh Collins (Placentia, NL) and John Flemming (Halifax, NS).

NASCAR legend Mark Martin (Batesville, AR) had a rough start to the day after hitting the wall hard during afternoon practice doing significant damage to the car. The 17 crew battled and were able to get the Cat Car for Kids into the starting grid but their issues continued into the evening.  Martin pitted on Lap 57 but was unable to return to the race due to extensive mechanical issues.

The Exide Batteries Rookie of the Race went to Jarrett Butcher. The King Freight Lines Future Winner Award was won by Collins who finished ninth. Blenkhorn pocketed the Linde Most Laps Led Award, pacing the field for 184 of the 250 circuits.

The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour is in action next weekend for the Irving Oil Blending & Packaging 150 at Petty International Raceway, located just outside on Moncton NB. Visit for complete event details and coverage.

Visit for complete event details and coverage.

Race Results

IWK 250 presented by Steve Lewis Auto Body
Riverside Speedway

Pos No. Name Laps Heat Finish Sponsor Hometown
1 67 Dylan Blenkhorn 250 H2:3 Blenkhorn’s Auto Recyclers Truro, NS
2 53 Cole Butcher 250 H5:3 Atlantic Tiltload Porter’s Lake, NS
3 99 Craig Slaunwhite 250 H1:3 Archibald Drilling & Blasting Terence Bay, NS
4 0 Shawn Turple 250 H2:1 Dexter Construction Enfield, NS
5 91 Dylan Gosbee 250 H5:2 Greenfield Enterprises Cornwall, PE
6 8 Kent Vincent 250 H1:7 Vector Aerospace Crapaud,PE
7 48 Dave O’Blenis 250 H3:1 Irving Blending & Packaging Boundary Creek, NB
8 5 Jonathan Hicken 250 H1:2 Castle Building Centres Brudenell, PE
9 56 Josh Collins 250 H1:6 Edward Collins Contracting Placentia, NL
10 29 Greg Proude 250 H3:2 Atlantic Dodge Dealers Springvale, PE
11 42 Kyle Reid 250 H4:1 Robby’s Towing Fort MacMurray, AB
12 3 Jason Hathaway 248 H1:1 CHOKO Authentics Uxbridge, On
13 21 Shawn Pierce 248 H2:4 C&P Tack and Apparel Blockhouse, NS
14 89 Donald Chisholm 248 H4:2 Nova Construction Antigonish, NS
15 40 Robbie MacEwen 248 H5:4 Maritime Steel Roofing and Siding Charlottetown, PE
16 2 Lonnie Sommerville 248 H1:4 Pub’s Bottle Exchange Saint John, NB
17 88 George Koszkulics 246 H5:1 Nova Construction New Glasgow, NS
18 54 Jarrett Butcher 246 H1:5 Top Construction Porter’s Lake, NS
19 36 Gary Elliott 229 H3:7 Quaker State Dundas, ON
20 18 Darren MacKinnon 202 H2:8 Shaw’s Towing Service Charlottetown, PE
21 13F Jeff Fultz 167 H3:4 King Racing Parts & Fabrication Troutman, NC
22 13 Cassius Clark 105 H3:3 King Racing Parts & Fabrication Farmington, ME
23 37 Cy Harvey 94 H4:4 Harvey Racing Enfield, NS
24 08 Nicholas Naugle 86 H5:5 Brycon Construction Dartmouth, NS
25 29F Greg Fahey 86 H2:6 McLaughlin Roof Trusses Ltd St. Stephen, NB
26 30 Stephen Lively 86 H5:6 Casey Racing Shubenacadie, NS
27 14 Terry Dougay 60 H4:5 Right on Board Locksmith Albany, PE
28 17 Mark Martin 57 H2:2 CAT Car For Kids Batesville, AR
29 97 John Flemming 25 H2:5 Happy Harry’s Building Centres Halifax, NS
30 32 Sarah McKay 11 H4:3 AE McKay Builders Quispamsis, NB
94 DJ Casey DNQ H1:8 Casey Racing Prospect, NS
52 Chris Hughes DNQ H5:7 Subaru of Moncton Brackley Beach, PE
66 Daryl Mahar DNQ H3:5 K Hubley Woodworking Hubley, NS
51 Vance Hanes DNQ H3:6 Leonard’s Auto Kennetcook, NS
07 Allison McKinnon DNQ H4:6 Oyster Bed Esso Oyster Bed Bridge, PE
10 Devin Snell DNQ H2:7 AJ Mallette & Son Saint John, NB
1 Matt Moore DNQ H3:8 Pothier Motors Upper Burlington, NS
49 Harry Ross White DNQ H4:7 Archibald Drilling & Blasting Kennetcook, NS


Failed to Qualify: 8
Margin of Victory: 0.629 seconds
Number of Cautions: 10
Atlantic Tiltload Heat Winners: #3 Jason Hathaway, #0 Shawn Turple, #48 Dave O’Blenis, #42 Kyle Reid, #88 George Koszkulics
Atlantic Tiltload B Feature Winner: #54 Jarrett Butcher
Exide Batteries Rookie Of The Race: #54 Jarrett Butcher
Linde Most Laps Led: #67 Dylan Blenkhorn
King Freight Future Winner: #56 Josh Collins


About the Riverside Speedway:
Riverside International Speedway is recognized as a premiere stock racing facility in Canada. The 1/3-mile high banked asphalt oval roars to action several times a year for special events. It is the home for eastern Canada’s only NASCAR event, and of the IWK 250 – widely known as the best stock car race in Canada. Located in James River, between New Glasgow and Antigonish, the facility is easily accessible at exit 30 on Trans Canada Highway 104. For more information call 902.863.2410 or click

About the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour:
The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour (PST) is considered the highest level of stock car racing in Canada. The Tour is recognized in the industry as one of the healthiest stock car racing series in North America. PST visits five tracks throughout the Maritimes during its May through September season. The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour is owned and operated by Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited. For more information, call our administration office at 902.481.2531 or click . You can also follow us on Twitter at  and like us on Facebook at

More in Maritime Pro Stock Tour