Connect with us

Scotia Speedworld

Shriners Classic and Strictly Hydraulics Night Friday Night at Speedworld

Track Release/Photo by McCarthy Photographic

(Halifax, NS – July 5, 2017) Mother Nature has not been very cooperative this season but this Friday fans will have lots of racing to cheer about at Strictly Hydraulics Night. Five divisions are slated to see action under the lights including the 23rd edition of the 50 lap Shriner’s Classic. Admission is $15.00 for Adults; Youth (8-15) are $5.00 and children 7 and under are free! Tickets are available at the gate on race day (cash only). Grandstand gates open at 5:00 PM with racing at 7:00 PM.

In the spotlight Friday night is the Strictly Hydraulics Legends division. A staple on the CARSTAR Weekly Racing Series for over a decade, the division has served as home to many racing veterans and a stop on the way up the ranks for the region’s up and coming talent.

Take two for the running of the 23rd Annual Shriners Classic which was postponed on June 23rd due to rain – one of the biggest Sportsman races in Eastern Canada – is expected to draw big names to Scotia Speedworld to run for the coveted trophy. Russell Smith Jr (Lakeside) is a two-time and the defending champion of the event and on Friday will look to become only the third driver in event history to win three or more Shriners Classic races.

Pulse Heavy Duty Truck driver Megan Parrott (Beaver Bank) will join Tim Terry as co-host for the 23rd Annual Shriners Classic. Parrott is a two-time feature winner in the division, a graduate of the Hydraulics Plus Bandolero division and is a fan favorite within the CARSTAR Weekly Racing Series.

Shriner’s Classic Past Winners
1995 – Gordie Ryan (#65)
1996 – Troy Slaunwhite (#80)
1997 – Terry Roma (#38)
1998 – Ron Tibert (#64)
1999 – Mel Tibert (#01)
2000 – Harry Ross White (#18)
2001 – Tony Leonard (#74)
2002 – James Graves (#27)
2003 – Craig Slaunwhite (#99)
2004 – Terry Roma (#38)
2005 – Terry Roma (#38)
2006 – Sheldon Pemberton (#62)
2007 – Craig Slaunwhite (#99)
2008 – Harry Ross White (#18)
2009 – Jeff Dillman (#08)
2010 – Colby Smith (#77)
2011 – Jeff Dillman (#08)
2012 –Jeff Dillman (#0)
2013 – Darren Wallage (#3)
2014 – Jeff Dillman (#0)
2015 – Russell Smith Jr (#44)
2016 – Russell Smith Jr (#44)

Scotia Speedworld and the Dartmouth Shrine Club have raised over $341,000 since 1988, with proceeds going to the Shriner’s Burn Hospital and the IWK Remedial Seating Program. Be sure to pick up your 50/50 tickets at the track on Friday night and support these two worthy children’s charities.

Format for July 7th

Click here for printable format

Pit Gate opens 4:30 p.m.
Tech Inspection starts 4:30 p.m.
Practice starts (BN, LG, SP, TH, LI) 5 min sessions 5:00 p.m.
Grandstands open 5:00 p.m.
Practice ends 6:25 p.m.
Drivers Meeting @ line-up board – all divisions 6:35 p.m.

Opening Ceremonies     7:00pm


Hydraulics Plus Beginner Bandoleros – 8 laps
Hydraulics Plus Bandoleros – 8 laps
Strictly Hydraulics Legend Cars– 10 laps
Affordable Fuels Sportsman Cars – 10 laps
Toursec Thunder Cars – 10 laps
Toursec Lightning Cars – 10 laps

Hydraulics Plus Beginner Bandoleros – 15 laps
Hydraulics Plus Bandoleros – 15 laps
Strictly Hydraulics Legend Cars – 25 laps
Affordable Fuels Sportsman Cars Shriner’s Classic– 50 laps
Toursec Thunder Cars – 25 laps
Toursec Lightning Cars– 25 laps

*format subject to change without notice

About Scotia Speedworld:

Scotia Speedworld (SSW) is a 3/10-mile asphalt oval racing facility. SSW is the only track in Nova Scotia to host a weekly racing series, which runs May through September and features six different classes of racecars. SSW also hosts special events, including Monster Jam, Nitro Circus and the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour. SSW is located at Exit 6 on Highway 102, across from the Halifax Stanfield International Airport. For more information please click on or call our Event Hotline at (902) 873-2277 or our office at (902) 481-2514. Like us on Facebook at  and follow us on Twitter

More in Scotia Speedworld