Connect with us

TCM Power Performer

POWER PERFORMER: Webster, Walsh Pace Field Into July

Featured Photo by McCarthy Photographic

The month of June closes on Friday night with a scheduled race card at Scotia Speedworld and it is Tim Webster leading the TCM Power Performer Championship presented by Quinn Flooring.

That could potentially change even if Webster does not hit the track on Friday night.

Bonus points for the month of June are handed out following Friday night’s Scotia Speedworld show – and Newfoundland drivers Wayne Walsh and Shane Coffen have a nice lead heading into the final day of the month.

Walsh and Coffen, Eastbound Park Sportsman racers, have amassed all of their TCM points in the month of June after their season opener in May was washed out. Walsh has 52 points while Coffen has 46 points.

Dylan Blenkhorn (36 points), Shawn Turple (33 points) and Sara Thorne (32 points) all moved into the top five for the month of June with their finishes on Sunday.

While the top two in June’s monthly standings look pretty safe, a number of Scotia Speedworld racers could upend Blenkhorn for third on the month. Jesse Deveau (28 points), Scott Thibodeau (28 points), Deven Smith (27 points), Webster (26 points), Richard Drake (26 points), Steve Matthews (25 points), Jamie Dillman (23 points) and Dave Matthews (22 points) could potentially finish in the top three in the month of June with a strong performance at Scotia Speedworld’s Kiddie Night on June 30th.

The leader for the month of June will receive five championship bonus points. Second place on the month will receive three points while third will receive one point. June, July, August and September each carry bonus points and these points are in addition to a driver’s best 12 finishes that will ultimately determine the inaugural TCM Power Performer Champion presented by Quinn Flooring.

If Webster were to sit out Friday night, or it were to rain out on Friday at Scotia Speedworld, Walsh’s five point bonus for June would vault him to a one point lead in the championship. It is still early in the season though with just over two thirds of the year to go.

Overall to date, Webster leads the standings with 56 points. Speedway 660 racer Luc McLaughlin is tied with Walsh with 52 points, followed by John Rankin with 50 points and Shawn Turple with 48. A total of 499 drivers have competed in at least one of 104 features throughout the region’s 11 tracks in 2017.

Photo from Eastbound Park

TCM Power Performer Championship Presented by Quinn Flooring: Quick Stats

Point System: Every feature race at every oval race track in Atlantic Canada receives TCM points. Points go to the driver who races the feature event. A full field is 12 cars. A winning driver in a field of 12 cars or more receives 15 points with second receiving 11 points, descending by one point per position. In a field less than 12 cars, the winner will receive a point total that reflects the number of starters (a winner in an eight car field would receive eight points), descending by one point per position. Every driver that starts the feature receives at least one point.

A driver’s best 12 point finishes will count towards their total for the year end standings. Bonus points will be added for the top three drivers who amass the most points per month (1st – 5; 2nd – 3; 3rd – 1). Bonus points cannot be dropped.

The winner of the TCM Power Performer Championship presented by Quinn Flooring will receive the inaugural championship trophy and $250 cash from Quinn Flooring. Cash awards available to drivers running a TCM sticker on their car throughout the season.

Total feature races to date in 2017: 104

Total feature races to date in June 2017: 72

Total drivers to receive TCM points in 2017: 499

Overall leader: Tim Webster of Beaver Bank, NS
56 Points – Four starts. Three full field wins, one 11 point feature win.

Provincial Leaders (Overall)

Nova Scotia – Tim Webster of Beaver Bank, NS – 56 Points
New Brunswick – Luc McLaughlin of Geary, NB – 52 Points
Newfoundland and Labrador – Wayne Walsh of Conception Bay South, NL – 52 Points
Prince Edward Island – Dylan Gosbee of Cornwall, PE – 45 Points

Photo by Michelle Roy/Speedway 660

Divisional Leaders (Overall)

Mini Stock/Hobby Stock (Four Cylinder) – Tim Webster of Beaver Bank, NS – 56 Points
Street Stock – Luc McLaughlin of Geary, NB – 52 Points
Sportsman/Late Model – Wayne Walsh of Conception Bay South, NL – 52 Points
Pro Stock/Pro Late Model – Shawn Turple of Enfield, NS – 48 Points
Legend – Cory Hall of Jolicure, NB – 41 Points
Bandolero – Josh Langille of Coldbrook, NS – 41 Points

Photo by Michelle Roy/Speedway 660

June Points (Top 25)

June Points Driver Division
52 Wayne Walsh LM
46 Shane Coffen LM
36 Dylan Blenkhorn PS
33 Shawn Turple PS
32 Sara Thorne BN
31 Ryan St George LG
30 Cory Hall LG
30 John Rankin LM
30 Johnathon Norman LG
28 Jesse Deveau MS | TR
28 Michael Neary BN
28 Scott Thibodeau MS
27 Deven Smith MS
26 Tim Webster MS
26 Luc McLaughlin SS
26 Richard Drake MS
26 Jeff Richard MS
26 Nick Chaisson SS
25 Ryan Messer PS
25 Chris Cooper LG
25 Steve Matthews MS
25 Cody Byrne MS | LM
24 Shane Collins HS
24 Devon Morgan HS
24 Cole Butcher PS

Overall Point Standings (Top 25)

Total Points Driver Division Prov.
56 Tim Webster MS NS
52 Luc McLaughlin SS NB
52 Wayne Walsh LM NL
50 John Rankin LM NB
48 Shawn Turple PS NS
46 Dylan Blenkhorn PS NS
46 Shane Coffen LM NL
45 Drew Greenlaw LM ME
45 Dylan Gosbee PS PE
43 Scott Thibodeau MS NS
41 Cory Hall LG NB
41 Josh Langille BN NS
40 Adam Meehan LG NS
39 Brent Roy PS NB
38 Ashton Tucker PS NB
38 Paul Goulden LG NS
38 Shawn Hyslop SS NB
36 Deven Smith MS NS
36 Jacob Logan LM NB
36 Nick Chaisson SS PE
36 Richard Drake MS NS
35 Cody Byrne MS | LM PE
35 Cole Butcher PS NS
35 Ryan Messer PS NB
34 Colton Ford SS PE
34 Richard Atkinson LM NB
34 Roger Slocum SS NB

Complete overall standings can be found here

More in TCM Power Performer