Connect with us

Maritime Pro Stock Tour

Butcher to be Crowned Pro Stock Tour Champion Nov. 12th in Charlottetown

Series Release/Photo by McCarthy Photographic

(Halifax, NS – November 8, 2016) The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour will return to Prince Edward Island on Saturday to officially close the 2016 stock car racing season with their annual Awards Gala. The Delta Prince Edward in Charlottetown will play host to the event for the third time in series history after hosting the year ending show in 2010 and 2011.

Cole Butcher of Porter’s Lake, Nova Scotia will receive his $10,000 cheque and championship trophy as the champion of the series on Saturday evening. Butcher won three of the 12 races on the series this year including the Atlantic Cat 250 and Dartmouth Dodge 200 at Scotia Speedworld. The Atlantic Cat 250 was his first “250” victory of his young career. He also won a 150-lap feature presented by Irving Blending & Packaging at Petty International Raceway. Butcher, at 20 years old, is the youngest champion in Series history.

While Butcher will take the biggest prize of the evening, the presentation of the $50,000 Parts for Trucks Point Fund will be made. All full-time drivers on the series will share in the point fund on Saturday evening.

Harry Ross White (Noel Road, NS) will receive the Exide Batteries Rookie of the Year Award after a season long battle with fellow freshman Nevin Scott (Marshfield, PE). Both drivers have plenty to celebrate from 2016 with both starting from the pole position in respective events at Scotia Speedworld among other accomplishments.

The Irving Blending & Packaging Fan Favorite Award will be presented on Saturday evening. Fans have been voting for their favorite eligible full-time series competitors on for the past two weeks. Fans rewarded Jonathan Hicken (Brudenell,PE) with the honor in 2014 and Joel Hickox (Cornwall, PE) took home the award last year. The winner will receive a cash bonus and product from Irving Blending & Packaging.

As voted on by their competitors, the Cathy Ledwidge Memorial Most Sportsmanlike Driver will be awarded at the banquet. The award, won in 2015 by series champion Donald Chisholm (Antigonish, NS), is considered one of the most prestigious to receive on the series.

Contingency awards also to be handed out on Saturday include the Atlantic Tiltload Time Trials Award, Urquhart MacDonald Most Improved Driver Award and the EIT Race Radios Consistency Award. Vendor draws from Five Star Bodies/R&D Performancenter, ARBodies/MK Auto Products and Lucas Oil will also be made among eligible competitors in attendance.

Lucas Oil will also be presenting three drivers with product sponsorships for the 2017 season as chosen by random draw. Greg Proude (Springvale, PE), Cole Butcher and Shawn Pierce (Bridgewater, NS) were the lucky recipients in 2015.

The evening kicks off at 6:00pm with seating and reception. Dinner begins at 7:00pm with the awards ceremony to follow. A dance featuring DJ Chad White will follow the awards and close off the evening.

For complete information on the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour, please visit

About the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour:

The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour (PST) is considered the highest level of stock car racing in Canada. The Tour is recognized in the industry as one of the healthiest stock car racing series in North America. PST visits five tracks throughout the Maritimes during its May through September season. The Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour is owned and operated by Maritime Pro Stock Tour Limited. For more information, call our administration office at 902.481.2531 or click . You can also follow us on Twitter at  and like us on Facebook at

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Pro Stock Tour