Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Messer Mighty in A.E. McKay Builders 150

(Sept 3, 2016) Ryan Messer won the first big race of the 2016 edition of SpeedWeekend at Speedway 660 on Saturday night. Just one week after capturing the Martins Home Heating Sportsman championship, Messer won the A.E. McKay Builders 150. It was the biggest win of the 15 year old driver’s career.

“I didn’t really expect to be in victory lane tonight especially after the way this race started tonight” said Messer. “But my crew worked hard in the pits and we caught a break at the end and here we are with an awesome win in the A.E. McKay Builders 150.”

Messer dodged several cautions early in the race and had to pit to fix a damaged race car, but was able to stay on the lead lap. Late in the race he inherited the lead after Colby Smith spun Drew Greenlaw, who led most of the race. With three laps remaining Messer outlasted Laurie Cormier who came home second and Alexandra O’Blenis who was third. Luc Bourgeois, Kyle Reid and Russell Smith won the qualifying heat races.

Corey Hall won a very entertaining 50 lap Upper Clements Parks Maritime League of Legends Tour race, presented by Atlantic Tiltload. Hall beat Jarret Butcher and Waylon Farrell to the stripe for the win. Hall and Butcher won the Legends heat races.

Mike “Sparky” Raeburn worked his SpeedWeekend magic, for the second year in a row, to win the 35 lap Atlantic Modified Tour race which was presented by Tucker Appraisals. Joe Hoyt raced to a second place finish, while Justin Beers settled for third. Beers and Peter Chisholm won the Atlantic Modified heat races.

SpeedWeekend 2016 continues on Sunday afternoon at 2PM with qualifying for the McLaughlin Roof Trusses 250. The DMR Auto Sales Street Stock 50, the Fredericton Gun Shop Shooter 30 and the Tim’s Corner Motorsports Bandolero Blast will also be held Sunday afternoon. Then at 6:30PM Sunday evening race fans will be treated to the McLaughlin Roof Trusses Pro Stock 250.

 SpeedWeekend 2016 Saturday Night Results

A.E. McKay Builders Sportsman 150

  1. Ryan Messer (Harvey, NB), 2. Laurie Cormier (Grand Barachois, NB), 3. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 4. Richard Atkinson (Haneytown, NB), 5. Colby Smith (Cape Sable Island, NS), 6. Andrew Rodgers (Smithtown, NB), 7. Drew Greenlaw (Eastport, ME), 8. Russell Smith, 9. Kyle Reid (Fort McMurray, ), 10. Justin Cole (Harvey , NB), 11. Chris Reid (Fort McMurray, ), 12. Jacob Logan (Harvey, NB), 13. Wade Harris (Canal, NB), 14. Corey Collins (Fredericton, ), 15. Hudson Weston (Saint John, NB), 16. Clark Moore, 17. Luc Bourgeois (Moncton, NB), 18. Shawn Warren (Waasis, NB), 19. James Matchett, 20. Ryan Raynes, 21. Shane Coffen, 22. Ross Thorne, 23. George Jamieson (Fredericton, NB), 24. Matt Maillet (Burton, NB), 25. Kenny MacKenzie Jr. (Salisbury, NB), 26. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 27. Jordan Veinotte (Porters Lake, ) 28. Jason Shannon (Hoyt, NB)


Maritime League of Legends Tour

1) 8- Cory Hall, 2) 53- Jarrett Butcher, 3) 48-Waylon Farrell, 4) 10- Justin MacNeill, 5) 2- Mark Whynott, 6) 6-Adam Meehan, 7)13-Wyatt McCulloch, 8) 75-Emily Meehan, 9) 3- Cole Tanner, 10) 22- Shane Lively, 11) 27-Joey Lawson, 12) 65- Gary Bursey, 13) 17-Arnie Spinney, 14) 31-Will Farrell


Atlantic Modified Tour

1) 98-Mike Raeburn, 2) 17- Joe Hoyt, 3) 1- Justin Beers, 4) 2- Tom Betts, 5) 68-Peter Chisholm, 6) 14- Dale Young, 7) 15- Mark McCully, 8) 12- Steven Curtis, 9) 25- Mark Day, 10) 81- Cody Price, 11) 48- Kevin Bailey, 12) 10-Riley Forst

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing