Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Fahey Flies to Fan Appreciation Night Win

Track Release

(Aug. 20, 2016) For the second straight Saturday night Greg Fahey won the Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock Division 50 lap feature at Speedway 660. Fahey’s victory capped off a very exciting Fan Appreciation Night in the geary Woods. With a late season surge Fahey has put himself in position to capture his fourth pro stock title to go with two street stock and one sportsman championship.

“This team has worked hard all season to give me a great car and we’ve finally put it all together these last couple of weeks to make a run for the pro stock championship” said Fahey. “We can’t worry about what other championship contenders are doing, we’ve just got to work hard in the shop and come to the track with a positive attitude and focus on getting good results and the points will take care of themselves.”

Derek Christie had his best run of the season and finished second in the pro stock feature, followed by Matt Harris. Ashton Tucker finished 5th and won the CRF Chassis Rookie of the Race Award, presented by GD Fabrication. Dave O’Blenis and Dustin Tucker won the pro stock heat races.

Courtney O’Blenis won the DMR Auto Sales Street Stock feature for the sixth time in 2016. Rob Raynes was second, extending his streak of street stock podium finishes to 24, dating back to August of 2014. For the second straight week Riley Goodwin finished 3rd in the street stock feature. Goodwin and Destiny Enkel won the heat races.

“We’re having a great season and I’m really happy about winning another feature, but Rob keeps getting those podium finishes and he still leads the points but we’re getting closer” said O’Blenis. “We’ll work hard in the shop next week and I’ll come to Speedway 660 for the final point race focused on having another good run and we’ll see what happens.”

Ryan Messer took top spot in the Martins Home Heating Sportsman Division 40 lap feature on Saturday night. Messer, the 2015 sportsman rookie of the year, will take the championship point lead into next Saturday’s Night of Champions. Jacob Logan had another strong outing finishing second, followed by Jordan Veinotte from Porters Lake, Nova Scotia. Logan and Veinotte also won the sportsman heat races.

Curtis Collins won the 20 lap Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter feature. Championship point leader Kyle MacKinnon was second, while Brody Levesque was third. Levesque and Grey Owl won the sharp shooter heat races.

Speedway 660 hosts its annual Night of Champions next Saturday night. Championships and Rookie of the Year Awards will be decided in all four weekly divisions. Following the last point race, drivers and race teams will converge on Speedway 660 for SpeedWeekend from September 2nd to 5th. The weekend will be highlighted by the McKay Builders Sportsman 150 and the MacLaughlin Roof Trusses Pro Stock 250.

Speedway 660 feature results for Saturday, August 20th, 2016


Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock

  1. Greg Fahey (St. Stephen, NB), 2. Derek Christie (Fredericton, NB), 3. Matt Harris (Fredericton Jct., NB), 4. Kevin Moore (Fredericton, NB), 5. Ashton Tucker (Lyttleton, NB), 6. Brent Roy (Hanwell, NB), 7. Ian Rasmussen, 8. Robert Tomlinson (Arthurette, NB), 9. Glyn Nott (Burton, NB), 10. Andrew McKay, 11. Brandon Skidmore, 12. Paul Gahan (Lower St Mary’s, NB), 13. Jeff Doherty, 14. Jon Gahan, 15. John Rankin (St.Martins, NB), 16. Dustin Tucker (Fredericton, NB), 17. Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 18. Ben Pelletier (Upperton, NB)


Martins Home Heating Sportsman

  1. Ryan Messer (Harvey, NB), 2. Jacob Logan (Harvey, NB), 3. Jordan Veinotte (Porters Lake, ), 4. Justin Cole (Harvey , NB), 5. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 6. Drew Greenlaw (Eastport, ME), 7. George Jamieson (Fredericton, NB), 8. Corey Collins (Fredericton, ), 9. Hudson Weston (Saint John, NB), 10. Shawn Warren (Waasis, NB), 11. Richard Atkinson (Haneytown, NB), 12. Wade Harris (Canal, NB), 13. Clark Moore, 14. Ryan Raynes, 15. Jason Shannon (Hoyt, NB), 16. Darren Beatty (Lakeville Corner, NB)


DMR Auto Sales Street Stock1. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 2. Robert Raynes (Summerville, NB), 3. Riley Goodwin, 4. Rick Cashol (Saint John, NB), 5. Roger Slocum (Chipman, NB), 6. Luke Dukeshire, 7. Noah Gillespie, 8. Chuck Morton (Lincoln, NB), 9. Courtney Barton (Minto, NB), 10. Randy Campbell (Quispamsis, NB), 11. Matt Crocker (Fredericton, NB), 12. Destiny Enkel (Saint John, NB)


Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter

  1. Curtis Collins, 2. Kyle MacKinnon, 3. Brody Levesque (Fredericton, ), 4. Tyler Crocker, 5. Kyle Boudreau, 6. Bryan Suttie (Keswick, NB), 7. James McCoy, 8. Matt Martin, 9. BJ Gillespie, 10. Aaron Bellville (Saint John), 11. Grey Owl.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing