Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Matt Rodgers First of 36 to Register for 2016 Speedway 660 Pro Stock 250

Track Release Prepared by Tim’s Corner Motorsports/Photo by McCarthy Photographic

(Fredericton, NB – August 11th, 2016) – When the 5pm call on Tuesday came for drivers to “start their keyboards” to register for the 16th Annual Pro Stock 250 at Speedway 660, the first race of Speedweekend 2016 was on.

It took Smithtown, New Brunswick’s Matt Rodgers just over a minute to fill out his entry form and process his registration payment, becoming the first driver registered for the race. Rodgers, a former Sportsman standout, has made a number of starts this year in a Pro Stock and will look to make his first Pro Stock 250 start on Sunday, September 4th.

In fact, just under a minute later, a second rookie clocked in the registration race for the Pro Stock 250. Nicholas Naugle of Dartmouth, Nova Scotia made his first Speedway 660 start in a Late Model during the June running of the Best of the Best Pro Stock 150.

The Pro Stock 250 registration list determines tire selection on the Saturday of Speedweekend 2016, where four teams at a time will be able to select their tires from the Speedway 660 Tire Trailer. Joining the Rodgers and Naugle teams as the first to select their tires for the Pro Stock 250 by being the quickest to the registration window include those teams representing 2001 Pro Stock 250 winner Kirk Thibeau (Fort Fairfield, ME) and Sarah McKay (Quispamsis, NB), who has top ten finishes in her two Pro Stock 250 starts.

With just over 12 minutes after the registration window opening online, a total of 27 teams had filed their entries for the 2016 Pro Stock 250 with 19 of those coming within a four minute period between 5:01pm and 5:05pm Atlantic Time.


Nicholas Naugle edged Sarah McKay by 36 seconds in the race to the registration window for the 2016 Pro Stock 250. Both will be in the first group to select tires on Speedweekend. (MCCARTHY PHOTOGRAPHIC)

In addition to Thibeau, the inaugural champion of the event, previous past champions of the event that have registered for the 2016 Pro Stock 250 include reigning and 2012 champion Cassius Clark (Farmington, ME), 2010 and 2007 champion Johnny Clark (Hallowell, ME), 2009 and 2006 champion Lonnie Sommerville (Barnesville, NB) and 2008 titlist Craig Slaunwhite (Terence Bay, NS).

Defending HP Hood Oxford 250 champion Glen Luce (Turner, ME) and 2012 champion Joey Polewarczyk (Hudson, NH) have both filed entries for the 2016 Pro Stock 250 and will look to make their first starts in the event next month. Luce has one win this season on the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North circuit while “Joey Pole,” a former American Canadian Tour champion, has two wins in PASS North competition.

Ben Rowe (Turner, ME), a multi-time Oxford 250 champion himself, and John Flemming (Halifax, NS) will each look to become the first driver to win all three Maritime 250s with a win in the 2016 Pro Stock 250. Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour rising stars Cole Butcher (Porter’s Lake, NS) and Dylan Blenkhorn (Truro, NS) will look to add to their impressive resumes in their young careers on September 4th. Blenkhorn is a former Atlantic Cat 250 champion while Butcher has won a Parts for Trucks Tour event at Speedway 660 in 2015.

A number of the Re/Max Group Four Realty Pro Stock drivers have also registered early for the biggest race of the year at their home track. Greg Fahey (St. Stephen, NB), John Rankin (St. Martin’s, NB) and Matt Harris (Fredericton Junction, NB), all of whom find themselves within the thick of a championship chase in 2016, have filed their entries for the Pro Stock 250.

ENTRY LIST – 2016 Pro Stock 250 at Speedway 660

Sunday, September 4th, 2016

Entries listed by order of registration, entries subject to change without notice

Entry # Car # First Name Last Name Hometown
1 42 Matt Rodgers Smithtown, NB
2 08 Nicholas Naugle Dartmouth, NS
3 28 Kirk Thibeau Fort Fairfield, ME
4 32s Sarah McKay Quispamsis, NB
5 87 Matt Harris Fredericton Junction, NB
6 23 Lonnie Sommerville Barnesville, NB
7 33 Andrew McKay Quispamsis, NB
8 26 Brent Roy Hanwell, NB
9 52 Dustin Tucker Fredericton, NB
10 12 Glyn Nott Burton, NB
11 2 John Rankin St. Martin’s, NB
12 84 Brandon Skidmore Springhill, NS
13 97 John Flemming Halifax, NS
14 13 Cassius Clark Farmington, ME
15 53 Cole Butcher Porter’s Lake, NS
16 32 Ashton Tucker Lyttleton, NB
17 67 Dylan Blenkhorn Truro, NS
18 10c Brady Creamer Miramichi, NB
19 7 Glen Luce Turner, ME
20 9 Derek Christie Fredericton, NB
21 10 Devin Snell Saint John, NB
22 91 Braxton Stafford Blackville, NB
23 5 Jonathan Hicken Brudenell, PE
24 129 Trevor Sanborn East Parsonsfield, ME
25 83 Jeff Doherty Kingston, NB
26 29 Greg Fahey St. Stephen, NB
27 66 Paul Gahan Lower St. Mary’s, NB
28 97NH Joey Polewarczyk Hudson, NH
29 99 Craig Slaunwhite Terence Bay, NS
30 97D Chris Duncan Rothesay, NB
31 8 Ben Rowe Turner, ME
32 54 Johnny Clark Hallowell, ME
33 32ME Nick Jenkins Brownville, ME
34 91G Dylan Gosbee Cornwall, PE
35 72 Michael Kyle Sussex, NB
36 81 Ian Rasmussen New Denmark, NB


Speedweekend 2016 kicks off on Friday, September 3rd with the annual cornboil and concert with entertainment to be announced. Saturday, September 4th at 6:30pm will see the Sportsman 150 take centre stage, along with the Upper Clements Parks Maritime League of Legends Tour and the Atlantic Modified Tour. Sunday, September 4th at 2pm is the 16th Annual Pro Stock 250 along with the Tim’s Corner Motorsports Bandolero Blast, Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooters and DMR Auto Sales and Service Street Stocks.

Complete Speedweekend 2016 information can be found at

About Speedway 660:
Speedway 660 is one of Canada’s premier stock car racing facilities. Located in New Brunswick’s Fredericton region, it attracts race teams and fans from the Maritimes, New England and Quebec. The Speedway 660 racing season runs from mid May until Labour Day Weekend. SpeedWeekend, one of the most prestigious short track events in eastern North America, wraps up Speedway 660’s racing season.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing