Connect with us

Maritime Racing

O’Blenis Seals Another Speedway 660 Sportsman Victory

Track Release

(July 23, 2016) On Saturday night, at Speedway 660, Dave O’Blenis proved that he is one of the best short-track stock car drivers in eastern Canada. O’Blenis took the lead 54 laps into one of the biggest sportsman races of the season on his way to winning the Clark Chevrolet Firecracker 150 for the fourth year in a row! 

“Winning this race never gets old and I am as thrilled to take the checkers tonight as I was when we won our first Firecracker 150 four years ago” said O’Blenis. “The O’Blenis Motorsports Team worked hard all week to give me a great car tonight and their dedication to detail is one of the key reasons why we have been so successful in these big sportsman races in the last few years.”

Drew Greenlaw, who won his heat race, led the Clark Chevrolet Firecracker 150 for the first 53 laps before O’Blenis grabbed the lead. Greenlaw had a great run, but settled for a second place finish. Lonnie Sommerville who won the other heat race drove his car to a third place finish.

“Dave is a veteran with lots of experience in these big races and every time we race against him I learn a lot and hopefully one of these times we’ll find a way to beat him” said Greenlaw. “I am proud of our race team for providing me with a competitive car tonight and I want to also thank Clark Chevrolet for sponsoring the Firecracker 150.”

Rob Raynes continued his impressive season in the DMR Auto Sales Street Stock Division by winning their 30 lap feature. Courtney O’Blenis was second, while rookie Matt Crocker crossed the finish line in third. Crocker and Destiny Enkel won the street stock heat races.

Curtis Collins followed up a heat race win with a victory in the 20 lap Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter feature. Kyle Boudreau, the defending point champ, was second while Adam Gavel was third. B.J. Gillespie won the other sharp shooter heat race.

Speedway 660 is off for the upcoming long holiday weekend. Racing resumes on Saturday, August 6th with a weekly championship point racing event. A week later the Sharp Shooter 40 takes center stage followed by Fan Appreciation Night, the Night of Champions and SpeedWeekend 2016.

Clark Chevrolet Sportsman Firecracker 150

1. Dave O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 2. Drew Greenlaw (Eastport, ME), 3. Lonnie Sommerville (Saint John, NB), 4. Ryan Messer (Harvey, NB), 5. Laurie Cormier (Grand Barachois, NB), 6. Jacob Logan (Harvey, NB), 7. George Jamieson (Fredericton, NB), 8. Shawn Warren (Waasis, NB), 9. Ryan Raynes, 10. Hudson Weston (Saint John, NB), 11. Alexandra O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 12. Kyle Orr (Saint John, NB), 13. Justin Cole (Harvey , NB), 14. Matt Maillet (Burton, NB), 15. Corey Collins (Fredericton, ), 16. Richard Atkinson (Haneytown, NB), 17. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 18. Justin Munn, 19. Matt Harris (Fredericton Jct., NB)

DMR Auto Sales Street Stock Feature

1. Robert Raynes (Summerville, NB), 2. Courtney O’Blenis (Boundary Creek, NB), 3. Matt Crocker (Fredericton, NB), 4. Riley Goodwin, 5. Rick Cashol (Saint John, NB), 6. Roger Slocum (Chipman, NB), 7. Ryan Richard, 8. Noah Gillespie, 9. Courtney Barton (Minto, NB), 10. Destiny Enkel (Saint John, NB), 11. Chris Hanley (St. Stephen, NB)

Fredericton Gun Shop Sharp Shooter Feature

1. Curtis Collins, 2. Kyle Boudreau, 3. Adam Gravel, 4. Kyle MacKinnon, 5. Tyler Crocker, 6. Matt Martin, 7. James McCoy, 8. Bryan Suttie (Keswick, NB), 9. Grey Owl, 10. Brody Levesque (Fredericton), 11. Aaron Bellville (Saint John), 12. BJ Gillespie,

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing