Connect with us

New England

Speedway 95 To Kickoff 50th Anniversary Season With PASS North Stars This Weekend

Series Release

NAPLES, ME (May 11) – After a rain out last weekend at Star Speedway, the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North Super Late Models and PASS Modifieds will be back on track this Sunday afternoon at Maine’s Speedway 95.  New England’s top short track stars will help kickoff the 50th Anniversary season of racing at the track in Hermon dubbed as “Maine’s Family Fun Track.”

Through the first three PASS North races of the 2016 season, there have been three different winners.  Beech Ridge winner DJ Shaw currently leads the standings by four points over Oxford winner Ben Rowe and is just 13 markers ahead of Thompson winner Garrett Hall.

Speedway 95 favorite, Mike Hopkins, who also hails from Hermon, sits fourth in the standings just 23 points behind Shaw.  Hopkins has had a fast start to the year with two top 10s to begin the PASS North campaign and a runner-up finish in the PASS National Championship opener at Greenville-Pickens Speedway in South Carolina.  Hopkins feels he and his team are primed for their first PASS North Super Late Model victory this Sunday afternoon at Speedway 95.

“Speedway 95 is a place that has put on some very good races and finishes over the years,” says Hopkins, driver of the Hopkins Landscaping & Paving #15 Toyota.  “It would be unbelievable to pick up my first ever PASS Super Late Model win at my home track, where I have had very good results over the years we have raced there.  But, it’s not an easy task to do with the competition the tour has.”

If the past is any indication, expect another exciting finish Sunday afternoon at Speedway 95.  Two years ago, Shaw and Cassius Clark had an amazing finish that fans are still talking about, which saw Clark spin across the finish line and off the track.  Last year, Mike Rowe came from the 11th starting position to take the lead late in the going from Shaw and claim the win.

Another strong field is expected for Sunday afternoon’s action at Speedway 95 including former HP Hood Oxford 250 winners, Ben and Mike Rowe, as well as last year’s winner Glen Luce.  Former PASS champions, Johnny Clark, Joey Doiron, and DJ Shaw are also entered, along with Matt Matheson and David Oliver, with many more expected.

All the action gets under way on Sunday morning at Speedway 95 with rotating practice for all competing divisions starting at 10:20 AM.  Racing gets under way at 1:30 PM with heat race action followed by features for the PASS North Super Late Models, PASS Modifieds, Outlaw Super Series, North East Mini Stock Tour and Legends.

PASS North Super Late Model entry forms for Speedway 95, Star Speedway, and Thunder Road International Speedbowl, along with the 43rd Annual HP Hood Oxford 250 entry forms, can be found at

The Pro All Stars Series is recognized as North America’s premier sanctioning body for asphalt Super Late Models and boasts such marquee events as the legendary HP Hood Oxford 250 at Oxford Plains Speedway and PASS South’s Easter Bunny 150 at the historic Hickory Motor Speedway.  For technical information concerning all PASS divisions please send questions to  For media or marketing questions, please contact Alan Dietz at 704-231-2039 or  And, don’t forget to “Like” the Pro All Stars Series on Facebook or follow us on Twitter @PASSSLM14 to keep up with breaking news as it happens.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in New England