Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Scotia Speedworld Drops Curtain on 28th Season of Racing at Awards Banquet

Track Release/Photo by McCarthy Photographic

(Truro, NS. October 25, 2015) Over 300 drivers, crew members, officials, sponsors and fans of Scotia Speedworld gathered on Saturday evening to officially close the 2015 season. Championships, Tim Hortons at the Airport Rookie of the Year and various contingency awards were handed out at the event for Scotia Speedworld’s six Weekly Racing Series divisions that run every Friday night from June to September.

The Atlantic Tiltload Maritime League of Legends Tour also handed out awards to cap their 2015 seven race season.

The following awards were presented throughout the evening:

Dartmouth Dodge Sportsman Division

Champion (Roma Brothers Memorial Trophy): Russell Smith Jr. (Lakeside)
Debbie Hallahan Memorial Rookie of the Year Award: Alex Painting Jr. (Stewiacke)
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Travis Roma (West Chezzetcook)
R&D Performancentre Five Star Body Re-Skin Package Draw: 
Jordan Veinotte (Porter’s Lake)

Strictly Hydraulics Legends Division
Champion: Jarrett Butcher (Porter’s Lake)
Tim Hortons at the Airport Rookie of the Year: Cory Hall (Jolicure, New Brunswick)
Cathy Ledwidge Memorial Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Emily Meehan (Rawdon)
R&D Performancentre $200 Gift Certificate Draw:
Jeff Cruickshank (Hansport)

Coors Light Truck Division
Champion: Dan Smith (Lower Sackville)*
Tim Hortons at the Airport Rookie of the Year: Megan Parrott (Beaver Bank)
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Jamie Creamer (Spryfield)

*The championship is Smith’s fourth consecutive championship in the class, a record at Scotia Speedworld.

The Chickenburger Thunder Division

Champion: Matthew and Andrew Warren (White’s Lake)
Tim Hortons at the Airport Rookie of the Year: Thomas Marshall (Beaver Bank)
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Andrew Lively (Middle Sackville)

The Chickenburger Lightning Division

Champion: Deven Smith (Lakeside)
Tim Hortons at the Airport Rookie of the Year: Adam Smith (Antrim)
Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Jamie Dillman (Carroll’s Corner)

Hydraulics Plus Bandolero Division
Bandit Champion (ages eight to 12): Josh Langille (Coldbrook)
Outlaw Champion (ages 12 and up): Wyatt McCulloch of (Stewiacke)
Bandit Tim Hortons at the Airport Rookie of the Year: Sam Rogers (Lower Onslow)
Bandit Most Sportsmanlike Driver: Josh Langille (Coldbrook)
Outlaw Most Sportsmanlike Driver:
Luke Ettinger (Kennetcook)
R&D Performance $200 Gift Certificate Draw:
Morgan Mosher (Cornwall)

Atlantic Tiltload Maritime League of Legends Tour
Champion: Jarrett Butcher (Porter’s Lake)
Rookie of the Year: Adam Meehan (Rawdon)

The 2015 Scotia Speedworld Awards Banquet officially brings the 28th season of racing at the track to a close. Race teams and fans are urged to keep their browsers on, their Facebook feeds on @sswracing and their Twitter to @sswracing for information as it breaks for the 2016 season.


About Scotia Speedworld:
Scotia Speedworld (SSW) is a 3/10-mile asphalt oval racing facility. SSW is the only track in Nova Scotia to host a weekly racing series, which runs May through September and features six different classes of racecars. SSW also hosts special events, including Monster Jam and the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour. SSW is located at Exit 6 on Highway 102, across from the Halifax Stanfield International Airport. For more information please click on or call our Event Hotline at (902) 873-2277 or our office at (902) 481-2514. Like us on Facebook at  and follow us on Twitter

TCM Note: Scotia Speedworld was also presented with the TCM Best of 2015 Fan Favorite Weekly Short Track Award after besting Speedway 660 and Oyster Bed Speedway in a close vote in Round One of the year end awards.

Other awards winners will be announced in November.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing