Connect with us

Maritime Racing

Scott Steckly Wins History Making Fourth NCATS Title, Hathaway Wins Pinty’s 250

Series Release/Photo by Matthew Manor/Getty Images for NASCAR

Claims Fourth Crown After Hathaway Wins Canadian Tire Finale

FRASERVILLE, Ont. (Sept. 19, 2015) – Jason Hathaway did everything he could to bring the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 championship home for the first time. In the end, he couldn’t keep Scott Steckly from making history.

Hathaway led a race-high 203 laps Saturday night in winning the season-ending Pinty’s 250 at Kawartha Speedway.

Steckly’s No. 22 Canadian Tire Dodge followed him across the line in second and that was enough to give him his fourth NASCAR Canadian Tire Series championship. The 43-year-old from Milverton, Ontario, won the title in 2008, 2011 and 2013. He became the 33rd person in the history of NASCAR to win four or more touring or national series championships.

Steckly entered the finale with a nine-point lead over Hathaway and Andrew Ranger, and needed to just finish in the top five to bring home the title. He earned the pole with a track-record lap in qualifying. Hathaway qualified fourth but dominated the event en route to his third win of the season, while Steckly was content to bring it home in the runner-up spot and ensure he would recapture the crown.

The final championship margin ended up 446 for Steckly to 442 for Hathaway.

D.J. Kennington finished third, followed by 2014 champion L.P. Dumoulin and rookie Marc-Antoine Camirand.

Teenager Cayden Lapcevich, Alex Tagliani, Joey McColm, J.F. Dumoulin and Ranger rounded out the top 10.

The Pinty’s 250 will air on TSN on Saturday, Oct. 3 at 1 p.m., and on RDS2 on Thursday, Oct. 22 at 7 p.m.

Steckly and the rest of the top NASCAR Canadian Tire Series drivers will be honored at the NASCAR Touring Night of Champions Awards at the Charlotte Convention Center/NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte, North Carolina, on Saturday, Dec. 12.

NASCAR Canadian Tire Series pres. by Mobil 1-Pinty’s 250 Results


At Kawartha Speedway

Fraserville, Ont.

Lap length: 0.375 miles

(Start position in parentheses)

1. (4) Jason Hathaway, St. Thomas, Ont., Chevrolet, 250 laps, 53.267 mph.

2. (1) Scott Steckly, Milverton, Ont., Dodge, 250.

3. (8) D.J. Kennington, St. Thomas, Ont., Dodge, 250.

4. (5) L.P. Dumoulin, Trois-Rivieres, Que., Dodge, 250.

5. (20) Marc-Antoine Camirand, Saint-Leonard-d’Aston, Que., Chevrolet, 250.

6. (2) Cayden Lapcevich, Grimsby, Ont., Dodge, 250.

7. (9) Alex Tagliani, Lachenaie, Que., Chevrolet, 250.

8. (7) Joey McColm, Ajax, Ont., Ford, 250.

9. (17) J.F. Dumoulin, Trois-Rivieres, Que., Dodge, 250.

10. (10) Andrew Ranger, Roxton Pond, Que., Dodge, 250.

11. (3) Gary Klutt, Halton Hills, Ont., Dodge, 250.

12. (14) Josh Collins, Placentia, N.F., Ford, 250.

13. (6) Mark Dilley, Barrie, Ont., Ford, 249.

14. (15) James Van Domselaar, Fort Saskatchewan, Alta., Chevrolet, 248.

15. (19) Noel Dowler, Sherwood Park, Alta., Dodge, 247.

16. (21) Adam Dowler, Sherwood Park, Alta., Dodge, 246.

17. (22) Brandon White, Kahnawake, Que., Chevrolet, 246.

18. (12) Anthony Simone, Aurora, Ont., Dodge, 230, fuel pump.

19. (13) Matthew Scannell, Rockwood, Ont., Dodge, 228.

20. (11) Dwayne Baker, Barrie, Ont., Dodge, 169, suspension.

21. (16) Kevin Lacroix, Saint-Eustache, Que., Dodge, 162, radiator.

22. (18) Jason White, Sun Peaks, B.C., Dodge, 143, drive line.

Race Statistics

Time of Race: 1 hour 45 minutes 36 seconds

Margin of Victory: .368 seconds

Fastest Qualifier: S.Steckly (76.418 mph, 17.666 seconds)

Caution Flags: 6 for 55 laps.

Lead Changes: 1 among 2 drivers.

Lap Leaders: S. Steckly 1-47; J. Hathaway 48-250.

Standings: 1. S. Steckly, 446; 2. J. Hathaway, 442; 3. A. Ranger, 428; 4. L. Dumoulin, 420; 5. D. Kennington, 400; 6. G. Klutt, 383; 7. M. Camirand, 382; 8. J. Dumoulin, 381; 9. A. Tagliani, 356; 10. J. McColm, 348.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Maritime Racing